Oranges and a crock pot meal

Hey guys! Happy Tuesday!

This past weekend was kinda cray, mostly because of the holiday. (Like the rhyme?? Hehe) anyway…(I can’t stop myself) my Valentine’s Day was spent at home. And since I didn’t want to head out in the rain with an infant, I told hubs what I would have bought him, so he could pick it up for himself. I think it was the first v-day where I didn’t get all sappy. (2 years ago I wrote him a sappy love letter, last year I gave him a book of photos of the two of us. Very sappy). And the gift he got himself, scotch. He was a happy camper. And I told him to buy me wine and chocolate.

20140218-073840.jpg

He’s a good man πŸ˜‰

And to balance things out here was my breakfast on Saturday.

20140218-074033.jpg

I smeared 1/4 of an avocado on a “healthy” tortilla (it had blue corn and flaxseed in it), then scrambled an egg and tossed in a handful of spinach. I must have been hungry because it seriously hit the spot.

My lunches have all been this.

20140218-074233.jpg

You would think I would be sick of that combo, Chicken/sweet potato/green beans, but I’m not. I topped this one with a little feta cheese. And it totally made everything better. I usually top with hummus, but I’m out. And I bet it would have been good with both hummus and feta, an idea for next time.

On Sunday we finally picked the oranges off our beautiful orange tree.

20140218-074813.jpg

We got quite a haul, and being good neighbors gave away about half of them right off the bat. I thought about bringing out my juicer, and then remembered how long it takes to clean the juicer. Pass. I’ll just eat them whole. Haha.

It was also super sunny, and I insisted on a little impromptu family photo shoot. It’s not easy getting 4 people in a picture when one of those people are holding the camera.

Here’s some outtakes.

20140218-075217.jpg

And here’s the best we could do.

20140218-075248.jpg

I love it because we are all smiling real smiles. And let’s be honest, a 14 year old hardly ever smiles, so this was a miracle! Who cares if hubs face is 1/2 missing? Haha.

And since this post is all over the place, here’s a pic of last night’s dinner.

20140218-075443.jpg

I was kind of proud of myself, because I didn’t follow a recipe and the family loved it! I basically threw in some frozen chicken, a quart of chicken broth, a couple cans of beans (garbanzo and kidney), a can of corn, can of diced tomatoes, chopped carrots and celery, and a handful of spinach. Tossed in some spices (garlic salt, cayenne pepper, onion powder, and cumin) set on low for 7 hours (or until carrots are all the way cooked), and it turned out fabulous! Plus I have leftover for lunches/dinners for the week! Score!

Last but not least here’s my little mongrel’s 7 week pictures.

20140218-080042.jpg

And some smiley ones

20140218-080109.jpg

And now I’m off to drink coffee in peace while Dominic sleeps in his swing for 10 minutes.

Cheers!

3 thoughts on “Oranges and a crock pot meal

  1. originalapplejunkie says:

    He is so completely absolutely adorable!
    I want to cuddle him! I’m loving watching him grow πŸ™‚
    And your orange tree looks amazing.. We have 2 apple trees.. but oranges would be a fun dynamic to add to the mix πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

