Ninja Kicks!

Yesterday I woke up with tons of energy. It was really weird. This pregnancy has pretty much sucked the life out of me. I haven’t really had any “great” days, where I’m not sick or tired. So yesterday was such a blessing. Especially since my house is kinda suffering because of my lack of energy.

First thing, I got my DVD player going and put in a prenatal work out DVD that I have. I got it right after I found out I was pregnant, and try to do it 1-2 times a week.

20130716-123133.jpg

It’s kind of nice that you can choose how long you want the DVD to play for. There are 6 or 7 work outs, each one 10 minutes. 2 of them are dancing ones (least favorite), one is a cool down (most favorite), and the rest are strength training (pretty ok).

20130716-123330.jpg

The nice part about working out with a prenatal work out DVD, is that not only are the exercises safe for baby. But the instructors are also talking about baby, and reminding you to connect with baby. I think that’s nice. Especially since most of the time I forget I’m even pregnant!

The rest of the day included laundry (like all of it, no towels left in the dryer today), dishes (2 loads!), and baking cookies.

20130716-123556.jpg

I’m still enjoying the fruits of my labor. Maybe a little too much?

And at the end of the day hubs and I went to bed early. And as I was laying there I was putting my hand on my belly, and finally after nearly 18 weeks I felt my baby kick for the first time. I was over the moon! Hubs was fast asleep, so I woke him up, and he mumbled something before rolling over and going back to sleep. Which actually was ok with me (he had to wake up at 3:30 in the morning, yuck right?) . So I laid there hand on belly, just waiting. I turned down the TV, and really wanted to be in tune. Bubbles, tons of bubbles is mostly what I felt. At first I wasn’t sure if it really was kicking. Maybe it’s gas? Lol! But no, after a few more minutes I just knew. I laid there grinning from ear to ear just embracing this tiny little moment. It was like heaven. I started crying happy tears. I know it sounds weird, but I love this. I love that I was blessed enough to get pregnant, and now able to enjoy it.

It was the best day.

Cheers!

4 thoughts on “Ninja Kicks!

  1. Tiffany F. says:

    I have one prenatal workout DVD but I rarely do it these days. The workout is soooo long – 55 minutes!! I just don’t have time or energy for that these days. Haha Congrats on feeling the kicks!! That’s so exciting. I didn’t feel the first kicks till around 21 weeks. Wait till you can see it from the outside… it’s a little freaky, but fun to watch! My hubs just likes to lay there and stare.

  2. cathyo says:

    I read about your little ninja and I’m like”what? I must have missed a post along the way!” So back I went and found your announcement. CONGRATS! How exciting!

  3. tiffanybluegirl23 says:

    This post reminded me of when I first felt my son kick. I had worked an 11 hour day (worked for the local blood bank in Montana and we were on an out of town blood drive). I had eaten dinner, showered and was in my bed in my hotel room all by myself. Like you I felt “bubbles” and thought dinner didn’t sit well with me. I placed my hand on my stomach and WHOA! Lil man could kick! Since I was on the road I called my (now ex) husband all excited and got a half hearted, “cool”.

    From that day on I finally felt pregnant. Never failed, lil man was a night owl like his momma and would play from about 11 pm to 1 am; rest of the day he only seemed to move to let me know I was interrupting his rest time LOL. Like Tiffany F. said it is pretty crazy to see your belly move when you get further along. I was able to tell where his lil butt was and his lil feet. Often times he would sit or dance on my sciatic nerve so I would have to rub my belly and say, “Peanut you need to move over.” Funny when he falls asleep in my bed now (at the age of 10) I often have to say “Bubba you need to move over.” See it never changes.

    Enjoy all the kicks and wiggles. Talk to the baby as much as you can during this time, because the bonding begins well before you actually hold him/her in your arms. I am so proud you are sticking with exercising. BTW that boost of energy is your nesting nature kicking in, just wait until the days right before you deliver. You will be a nesting fool!

Leave a Reply

