Things I miss most about running

Not sure if you have noticed, but I haven’t been running much. It sucks! Especially when I read all these other bloggers running their little hearts out. Sigh. And it sucks going on Facebook, because I “liked” tons of racing pages last year, and now I just see constant reminders that I’m not racing.

With out further ado, and in no particular order, here’s a few things I miss about running.

Having a plan to get a run in before it gets too hot/rains/time for work etc. Basically I wake up now and plop myself on the couch. Feeling a lot of bad juju on this.

Wearing my running outfits. I think it has been a month since I have worn a tech tee.

Racing! Omg how I miss racing! Sure waking up at the crack of dawn and stressing about drinking and eating before the race kinda sucked. But nothing beats that feeling of running with a bunch of other crazies.

20130707-082300.jpg

Oh and crossing that finish line is a really great feeling too!

Pre/post run rituals, filling up my water back pack with ice water and gu’s (espresso love, and peanut butter are my faves), smearing myself with anti-chafe cream and sunscreen. My favorite post run is ice and compression while drinking iced coffee. Nothing beats that feeling of accomplishment.

Running with friends, and the fun times we would have.

20130707-082825.jpg

(Obviously I loved that wine over train shirt). This was taken last July at the Davis Moo-nlight race.

My running figure! This one sucks maybe the most. I never realized how good it was, until it wasn’t. 6 months ago I was at a healthy BMI for the first time in my life! And now, not so much. It’s not like I have gained THAT much. But my muscles are gone, and it’s because I haven’t been able to work out the same.

I miss being apart of the running community. Even if I was just participating in races, and made only a handful of friends. I hate that I have to preface my interactions with “remember I can’t run”.

Passing another runner, and both of us knowing that we are runners.

20130707-083416.jpg

I miss hard runs, even if there were hills. I would always look forward to those downhill moments. I really love that weightlessness I would feel when running downhill, like a small victory.

Running with my dogs. They look at me crazy when all we do is walk.

Hitting mile 3. Seems like the first 2 miles always suck, but mile 3 is awesome. Plus if I was doing a 6 miler down and back it was time to turn around.

The look people would give me when I would tell the my running plans. Especially if it was about my long runs.

I’m trying not to be a “DEBBIE DOWNER” about this, but seriously guys I miss running! I see others out there running, and I first think “good for them”, then I become very jealous. I never thought this injury would be lingering for this long.

So here’s a few ideas I am going to put into action.

-Bi-monthly massages.

-getting in 2 walks a weeks

-try to get back into yoga 1x a week

-cross train 2x a week.

-foam roll after every work out.

-track calories better

If you have been following me for awhile you know I’m horrible at following plans. I’m more of a “shoot from the hip” kinda person. But I think I need a swift kick in the ass to get moving.

Wish me luck!

What would you miss most about running if you were injured?

What’s the longest you were out of the game with an injury? Do you still have problems with it?

Cheers!

16 thoughts on “Things I miss most about running

  1. magnuminsp says:

    I am on a 4-month hiatus due to two fractured legs. I miss everything about running, mostly, how much better I feel when I run. I have managed to put on 15 pounds, in the last month.

    The combination of the shoulder surgery in December and the leg issues after the last race in April, have affected me greatly, mentally. It is frustrating to say the least.

    The good news, I am pain free in both legs and only a month and a half to go, to the training for the Disney Wine and Dine 1/2 marathon.

  2. Amy says:

    You’ll be back to it in no time! I know it’s tough now, but be strong and positive. Do other activities that make you happy too in the meantime while you are getting back into running. 🙂

  3. tiffanybluegirl23 says:

    Wow! I have been hiding from my favorite runner blogs for a while now. I even deleted my old blog because I wasn’t running (or anything else for that matter). I wasn’t injured I just got into a slump and didn’t want to see anything pertaining to running. I am so sorry for your injury. I remember reading your posts about your races/training and being motivated & inspired to get off my duff and run. I know when I stopped at first I turned away when I saw people running and I was so negative about it. Eventually I became like you, I’d see people running and be envious of their dedication. I know my hiatus was self-induced and yours isn’t but I know what you mean when you say you miss the feelings of race day or when you see others running.

    I truly hope you can find a remedy for your injury that will allow you to run again.

    • drinkrunyoga says:

      Thank you so much for your well wishes 😉 I hope eventually this nerve thing will heal and I can be back at it. AND I know the feeling of being completely healthy and injury-free and just not feeling like working out, including running! I think we all go through phases, where we get burnt out on things or complacent, it’s life! I hope you find your motivation, when you’re ready. Here’s something that always made me feel motivated is thinking, “if I could just string together 3 or 4 good eating/working out days, I’ll be happy!” Not sure if that helps, but like I said, when you’re ready you will be great!

      • tiffanybluegirl23 says:

        Actually found my motivation about 3-4 weeks ago and it was reinforced on June 28th. My group got into the 2013 NWM SF. Atwood year dream is finally coming true.. Pre-training training started last week and training starts tomorrow. I’ve been finding my love for running again. So far so good!

      • tiffanybluegirl23 says:

        That would be a two year dream. Stupid iPad.

        Thank you! You know that feeling of excitement and “what have I gotten myself into?” That’s me right now. My last half that I ran was in Nov. 2012. I feel like a newbie.

        This is why I wish you were running. The days you’d post about a funny outing with the pups or how you rewarded yourself with a coffee after a long run always came just when I needed a reminder that I’m not the only one out there.

  4. loverunlive says:

    I can definitely relate. I injured myself a three weeks ago. Last weekend after a painful 5K, I had to hang up my running shoes per doctor orders. I miss it like hell, even after hitting the pool this weekend.

  5. cathyo says:

    i’ve stopped running too…although i don’t really miss it. I was hurting so much during and after my runs…they weren’t fun at all. So i decided i would stop spending what little free time I have doing something I wasn’t enjoying. I miss it a bit, but i hurt even just going a 400m warm up run at CrossFit, so no running in the near future for me. Luckily i’m busy with crossfit 3 times a week, ball hockey 2x a week and 1 game of golf each week that i’m keeping my weight in check. if only I could eat better, I might even lose a few pounds! oh well…

    Hope your injury heals up soon. Are you getting any treatment for it? I am debating whether to see a chiropractor or physiotherapist for whatever I’ve got going on. I just don’t know when I would fit those appointments in. Working full time sucks! LOL

    • drinkrunyoga says:

      Well if something hurts you should stop doing it! Haha. Something so simple, sometimes can be really annoying. Sounds like you’re getting in plenty of fun calories!

      I did try a chiropractor, but he was uncomfortably happy-excited. And I didn’t like his “vibes”, so I decided not to continue going. However he said that I should have been better by last month ….but he also wanted me to get an MRI, which is something my dr did NOT agree with. I didn’t want to have an excuse to get a surgery. Not worth it to me. I guess I should find someone else, but I’m leaning more towards yoga and massage for now.

Leave a Reply

