New favorite song, and foam rolling

Whenever this song comes on at work, I immediately get into a great mood. I love this kind of music. Makes me wanna sing along.

20130319-122800.jpg

I basically listened to it on a loop through my whole 2 miles.

20130319-122830.jpg

And while I did my simple circuit after.

I like to do 3 rounds of these exercises

Bicep curls 12
Overhead press 12
Tricep dips 12
Plank for 1 minute
50 crunches
1-2 minutes foam rolling

I like tricking myself into foam rolling. ie feels like part of a work out, rather than something you do AFTER your work out. I tend to skip it when I don’t do the circuit.

Oh and one more note about the foam rolling. Since I have really gotten into the foam rolling rhythm in the last month or so, I am seeing and feeling quite a difference in my hamstring injury. Basically I am not crying while I foam roll anymore. I think that’s a good sign. I found myself really pushing deep into the roller this morning and not flinching.

I wanted to give a shout out to Tara, who has challenged me and herself to get in 2, 30 minute work outs in weekly. I got mine in this week Tara, I know you can do it too!

Do you ever listen to a new song on a loop? Which one?

Do you foam roll? Why/why not?

Cheers!

4 thoughts on “New favorite song, and foam rolling

  1. Tara B. says:

    Aww.. Your too nice 🙂 I wanted to comment that I have a love/hate relationship with the foam roller..lol. I am not practicing right now, but I am a massage therapist and I know the value of getting massage and foam rolling. My foam roller was left in the basement and not long ago I discovered it molded 😦 I’m really sad about it, but the other night my calf was killing me so I dug out the rolling pin. Believe it or not, it worked great! It wasn’t as soft so I didn’t have to push into it much, but my calf hasn’t bothered me at all in the past 2 days. Tennis balls work great for the back and glutes too! Oh..and I’m working out tonight at the gym…I’ll blog about it tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

