Let’s Get Real

I feel like I fell off the clean eating wagon months ago, and haven’t been that successful at getting back on track. Here’s what’s real. I was 185 in September, then when I really injured my hamstring (October) I stopped running as much. By November I was back around 195. So, I really considered my lowest weight around 195.

This is dangerous.

10 pounds might not seem like a lot. But it is when you subtract them from the already 12 pounds that you have gained from being sedentary. So are we doing our math? I haven’t gained 12 pounds from this hamstring thing. I have gained like 22. And it sucks. I am angry about it. I hate the decisions I am making.

Here’s what’s also real. I work late shifts, I either get off work at 7, or 10 at night. I SHOULD go right to bed when I get home. However I don’t. I stay up drink a beer, and eat a snack before going to bed. And that beer has turned into 2 beers. If I’m being honest, here goes. I probably consume around 4-600 calories (including the beer) after I get off work. And I have been doing this since October/November. Now are we still doing the math right?

4-600 calories 5 nights a week over the course of 5-6 months equals 22 pounds. I am beginning to see signs of my work shirt buttons gaping. Big fat bad sign of me getting fat.

Sigh.

Do you see why I have not been blogging as much?

Ok and here’s a cute picture of Brassy to take some of the sting away from what I’m saying (this is for me, but I hope it makes you smile too!)

20130312-112619.jpg

What have we learned today? Eating crap and drinking beer after work makes you gain weight! It’s actually not that hard to say out loud. But I was so embarrassed I was eating wrong, I guess I just felt like if I kept doing it and not saying anything it would be ok.

It’s a twisted way of thinking, right?

I think most people do this. They avoid. Avoid their problems, by continuing to do what’s not best, and not confronting them, or being honest with themselves.

I need to set myself up for success. Especially since I am posting this and I am kinda freaking out about it. But just trying to take it one day at a time.

Here’s the things I would like to accomplish this week.

-drink only 1 cup of coffee a day (eventually weaning myself off of caffeine altogether)

-go straight to bed, when I get home after I work until 10pm. (I have a late shift tonight, so I plan to post tomorrow about that)

-get 2 more 30-60 minute work outs in this week. I have already put in 2 work outs, that would make it 4 for the week.

-blog post daily

sounds doable right?

I have already done some meal planning.

20130312-113650.jpg

I have dinners for the week. And I feel like I am setting myself up for success.

How’s your diet going?

Have your fallen off the horse/wagon?

Any tips??

Cheers!

14 thoughts on “Let’s Get Real

  1. Big Mike's World says:

    I think we all need a little support in our eating habits at times. You are certainly making the right steps; coming to us, your blogyblog friends/readers. Then there is being honest with yourself about what you are doing (right or wrong). I find it helpful when I hold myself accountable and doing so by writing down what I put into my body. The other thing that has to go along with that is your mood and attitude that came from what you consumed (how did you feel?).

    The importance in that is to help you see how the food you are eating affects you so you can either avoid it or embrace it. For example: I notice that if I have 1 Hershey kiss I feel good that I had a treat and that I was able to treat myself and not go crazy. But if I have 5 Hershey kisses, I feel like I over did it and feel guilty or cranky because I know I shouldn’t have had the extra kisses.

    I wish you the best on getting back on track. Watching you change yourself through all your runs has been very inspirational. Thank you for sharing your struggles as well as your successes!

    • drinkrunyoga says:

      I completely know what you mean by mood correlating to eating. I really started letting myself go (when I upped to 2 beers a night) when work started getting crazy. I am sitting here thinking of alternatives to a beer to relax at night. Maybe some hot tea, or a book. Or go all crazy and meditate. Thanks for the support!

  2. Tara B. says:

    I am SO with you on this…(wine cooler in hand). The drinking is not every nite, though, the snacking is! I certainly feel the same you do, as I have not blogged in quite awhile due to my shameful habits and not wanting to admit to the world that I SUCK at controlling food and food portions. Every time I think I’m ready to get back to running and eating well, I stumble on the path. But here I go…I’ve gained about 20 some pounds in the past year, and I’m at my all time highest ever in my life…255. Can you say morbid obesity? Of course, I start nursing classes in the fall since I’m going for my RN, and I CANNOT continue to live like this. Maybe you’d like to band together on a fitness endeavor? πŸ™‚ I wish you the best at conquering those weaknesses in your life! You CAN do it! I believe in you! πŸ™‚

      • Tara B. says:

        I don’t know how clean I can get my eating because its so terrible now; however, I can do baby steps. Persuing a fitness endeavor is exactly what I need to get back on track. I notice that when I exercise I feel better about myself and then I want to eat better too. The last time I did any real exercise was back in September during a run I did a fundraiser for. I’d like to get back to running, but I have seen such a decline in my fitness that I most certainly would have to start out with walking. The week is not over yet. We should make it a goal to get in at least two 30 minute walks before Monday. What do you say? πŸ™‚

  3. cathyo says:

    We all fall off the horse…the key is to not beat ourselves up over it too much and just get back on track. You are already ahead…you know what is causing the problem. Now you just need to change that behavior. Prepare some healthy snacks that are waiting for you whe you get home from work. Have a get big glass of water first, before the beer. Chances are you won’t want that beer anymore. I’ve read before on other blogs that
    We aren’t hungry, we are thirsty….so guzzle the water and re-assess….if nothing else, you will only have room for one beer instead of two. I’ve been following you long enough to know that you have the strength and determination to do what’s right. So just do it!

  4. runningcoastietocoastie says:

    This happened to my husband. He went from about 220 to 189. Then he injured his knee and needed surgery. He kept eating what he was when he was working out all the time. Then the eating turned to not so good eating. About a month ago he ended up in the hospital with either a TIA or super high blood pressure and that was the catalyst that got him going in the right direction again.

    These things happen, but it’s what you do after that make the difference. Good luck, stay positive, and I’m sure you’ll be successful.

  5. alabrianna says:

    I like it when bloggers get real, because WE, your readers, are all real! I myself have been going through a sedentary stage. I am not feeling the workouts, and I am feeling the wine. I just want the wine and the sugar. So you’re just relatable, not shouldn’t be ashamed! You should just share what works for you when you’re back on the “good” wagon.

  6. Shawn (Pseudonym: Marguerite Muffinbauer) says:

    Drinking beer and eating crap after work? Guilty! I have fallen into the habit of thinking it’s my “reward” for working all day (especially on stressful days which has been most of my days lately.) I know it’s bad…but sometimes it’s the one thing I look forward to at the end of the day. So….you are not alone….but if you can figure out a solution, please advise.

Leave a Reply

