Fish Fry!

Yesterday was really one of the best days the three of us have spent together in awhile. With holidays and trying to fit everything in, we definitely lose some serious quality time together during December.

I had no intentions of waking up at 5 am to go fishing, so hubs said there was good fishing at 12. Woot, I was all over that! We spent the morning watching the cartoon version of “The Hobbit”.

20130107-094402.jpg

Hubs said he had watched that movie more than 100 times, and “they” (the TV programming people) would play it on TV during Christmas time “back in the day”. Kind of like “Frosty The Snowman”. Hubs is 8 years older than me, so I just took his word for it.

We ended up on the water right on time.

20130107-094822.jpg

I’m not really sure why Carlo looks so evil. I told them to “smile”, and this is what I get.

Carlo was learning how to use his new fishing pole. He basically saw someone else with one, and wanted one just like it for Christmas. Hubs called a dozen fishing stores and finally found one in Sacramento. The reason I’m telling you this, is after all that Carlo announces that he didn’t REALLY like that pole compared to his “other” pole.

Here’s a back shot of them together.

20130107-095230.jpg

About an hour into fishing hubs announces that he “caught a BIG one!”
I didn’t believe him. So I told Carlo to go ahead and “net” the fish.

20130107-095953.jpg

I didn’t think he had caught a “BIG” one, until I saw the belly. Holy Moses, definitely a keeper!

20130107-100237.jpg

He caught a 20 inch striped bass or “striper”.

Now that we have a keeper fish, next comes the decisions of how to prepare said fish. Hubs brought up the idea of beer batter. I looked up a recipe on google and found something with ingredients I had in the house. I didn’t have garlic powder, so I used cayenne pepper. It turned out good!

1 Cup flour
1 egg
1tsp pepper
1tsp salt
1/2 tsp cayenne pepper
1 1/2 cups beer (1 bottle)

Mix everything together, add beer last.

First you have to douse the fish in flour.

20130107-101253.jpg

Then dredge in beer batter mix

20130107-101458.jpg

After the dousing and the dredging, comes the frying! Make sure the oil is hot! We used canola oil.

20130107-101716.jpg

Cook until golden brown. About 3-5 minutes.

20130107-102056.jpg

Hubs has caught, filet’d, and cooked about 5 fish over the past 3 months. This was the first try at a fish fry (evidently I rhyme when trying new things) And let me just tell you, we will never cook the fish a different way again. Not only was it super easy, it was delicious! Like the best fish we had ever tasted delicious. Since it was laden with calories, I just counted it as my cheat meal for the week.

After the fish eating, we settled into a good game of monopoly.

20130107-102700.jpg

The little guy was the first to hit a million, and that’s how it’s played nowadays.

Have you ever tried to beer batter anything?

Have you played the new “millionaire monopoly”?

Cheers!

2 thoughts on “Fish Fry!

Leave a Reply

