Merry Belated Christmas, and Happy New Year!!

Hey there! It’s been about 6 weeks since I have posted. Wow, time does fly! Let me update you on a few things right out of the gate. First off, the marathon didn’t happen. Basically I realized I had an injury and wasn’t ready to run 26.2 miles. And onto my second big thing. I pulled my hamstring. I am almost sure I did this from over training for my marathon.

Ok so it took me 6 weeks to be able to say that in the blog world. And to be honest I have been so, so, so depressed. But this blog isn’t about being sad. It’s all about my experiences and motivating others.

And let me and my crazy family wish you guys a belated Merry Christmas!!

20121231-081819.jpg

Christmas was really great this year. In years past we tried to hit everyone on Christmas Day, this year we decided to hit everyone on separate days. We hit my family on the 23rd, hubs one side on the 24th, and other hubs side on Christmas night. Here’s some fun pics.

20121231-082130.jpg

20121231-082200.jpg

20121231-082251.jpg

20121231-082309.jpg

20121231-082327.jpg

20121231-082407.jpg

And my favorite gift has to be these babies.

20121231-082900.jpg

Brass had to photobomb the pic.

Hubs went to one of the local running stores that had my info on file. They showed him some options that they thought would work for my running. He picked those guys just for the color.

But I have done some walk/running in them just to see if they fit right. So far so good. They are ” Mizuno wave precision 13’s”. There is nothing like a new pair of running shoes to motivate me.

The key to my recovery is slow and steady. I have literally been sitting and resting for 6 weeks with a foam roll sesh about 3-4 times a week for 10-15 minutes. It’s hard to be motivated when all you can really do is rehab your injury. Oh and manage your diet. My diet is good about 50% of the time. Not enough when I’m not moving. I haven’t stepped on the scale in 2 weeks and I’m actually kind of afraid. However it’s a new year which means a clean slate, right?

Here’s my New Years resolutions.

1. Don’t hold onto anger. I struggle with this one, and I think it’s why I have grey hairs.

2. Be more consistent with food journaling. My fitness pal will be one of the most used apps on my phone.

3. Let my injury fully heal before I jump back into a training plan.

4. Focus on nurturing relationships with friends and family. This is a biggie for me, I won’t go into details, but I just gotta go with my gut.

There’s probably 10 more specific things I want to do, but I want to start slow.

How was your December and Christmas?

What are your New Years resolutions??

Cheers!!!

6 thoughts on “Merry Belated Christmas, and Happy New Year!!

  1. catslondonmarathon says:

    Nice shoes! Your hubby deserves a great big pat on the back for such an excellent choice!
    Sorry to hear about your injury. That’s a real bummer. If you enjoy swimming, it’s an excellent tonic to keep up your running fitness while still not overdoing it, to rehab yourself back to full fitness. I’m with you on the food journalling thing too – I find it really helps me to focus on the right things and the right quantities to eat, and has always been the only way I ever lose weight (no matter how far I run!)
    I hope you recover soon enough to get out there again soon. Good luck with the foam rollering. It’s too painful!
    Cat

    • drinkrunyoga says:

      Thanks for the well wishes, and the tips on swimming. We do have a pool, but not a pool heater. And in the dead of the coldest winter we have had in years (possibly ever) I definitely wouldn’t try swimming in it. There’s a few gyms close to me I have been thinking of checking out.

Leave a Reply

