Plan B

I totally miscalculated my schedule for Sunday and getting in my long run. I looked at my schedule, and for some reason saw a 12, but then I double checked before I left work Saturday, and it said 11….

There is just not enough daylight to run 17 miles, then get to work on time. Long story short, it didn’t get done. Today I woke up to this.

20121022-130028.jpg

I have a running rain jacket, but I didn’t want to run for 3 hours in the rain. Then I remembered I received a free 2 week pass to a local gym.

20121022-130236.jpg

I can’t remember the last time I ran on a treadmill. Probably 3 years ago, when I was on a cruise and had no other options.

When I got to the gym I realized that I hated their parking lot. It was small. And they had construction going on, so it seemed REALLY small. I checked in, and spoke to the manager, and he gave me his “spiel” about the gym and prices. He seemed to be talking in circles, and at first said I would get a discount since my workplace offers a discount or something. Then he never really explained it. I don’t like feeling pressured. So I just stopped him, and said “I’m not really comfortable spending any money today, I just want to take advantage of the free two week pass.” Read: I’m only here because I want to run on your treadmills since it’s raining.

He stopped the spiel, and didn’t even give me a tour. He was a douche. For that alone, I probably won’t be signing up. Plus it’s about $20 bucks cheaper a month at the 24 hour fitness about 1/2 a mile away. After the 2 weeks are up, I’ll ask if he would match the prices, if not, I’ll go to 24 hour fitness. Simple math.

The cardio room was upstairs, and you can’t tell from this pic, but it had a dropped ceiling.

20121022-131135.jpg

Which made me feel like if I put my hands up I would touch the ceiling. Kinda like the walls were closing in on me.

Watching the TV’s while running was a nice distraction for about an hour. Maybe an hour and a half. Then I started getting bored, and turned on some tunes. And it sucked since there was nothing to look at, besides the TV’s, except maybe the wall.

The one good thing about running on a treadmill is how incredibly easy it felt to run 10:30 min/mile for 3 hours. No hills, no water backpack to carry, nothing to carry. Just push a button and run. I ran 17 miles in less time than I had run 15 last week.

20121022-132309.jpg

This times 3 was my long run.

How often do you use a treadmill to run? Do you prefer or hate running on a treadmill?

If you have a membership to a gym, why?

Cheers!

2 thoughts on “Plan B

  1. lazylauramaisey says:

    I’m not a member of a gym but I swim a lot in a pool attached to a gym. I just duck in, pay for a single swim and scurry off before they have chance to tell me about how great it would be to join the gym. I’m sure they’ll corner me one of these days!

  2. Sandy says:

    i have a gym membership. I use it more in the winter when the snow keeps outdoor activities to a minimum. I use the stairmaster, elliptical and rowing machine there. I do use the treadmill but much prefer outdoor running. I will run outside in winter when possible but can be dangerous.When i do use the treadmill I usually set it on interval or random setting to try to mimic more of an outdoor run.

Leave a Reply

