TWD, 5 Miles, And A New Collar

This morning I knocked out 5 easy breezy miles.

20121016-090825.jpg

I noticed something when I clicked this pic. I have already racked up more than 100 miles on my Ghost 5’s. The rule of thumb is change out your running shoes when you reach 300-400 miles. Which means I’m already passed the 25% mark. The only other pair I have is a trail running shoes, and I haven’t busted those guys out for at least 3 months. Sigh, I see some trail miles in my future. I actually don’t mind trail miles, but there’s just the time to drive to the trail, and you know I’m kinda lazy.

Did everyone watch the best show on TV Sunday?

20121016-091315.jpg

What do you think of their new location??

In other news Brassy got a new collar.

20121016-091553.jpg

And I had a bad eating day, and pretty much felt like this all day.

20121016-091656.jpg

I blame it on the 15 miles.

How do you keep track of the mileage on your running shoes? Do you have more than one pair, and if you do, do you swap them out, how often?

Cheers!

6 thoughts on “TWD, 5 Miles, And A New Collar

  1. magnuminsp says:

    I think I may get 100 miles out of a pair of shoes. I run on pavement almost exclusively.
    Here is a post about it: http://ericvandeven.wordpress.com/2012/07/29/its-the-shoes/
    I think adding the padding to my new shoes might help the longevity. Buying a $100.00 pair of shoes every three months, is getting a little crazy!

    Then, and this has to be attributed to the fact that these shoes are outsourced, every once in a while, like now, I get one shoe that fits differently than the other. My left shoe fits “weird” and the tongue digs into my foot.

    Fortunately, Zappos gives you free returns for a year, so I just end them back and ordered two more pairs. 🙂

    • drinkrunyoga says:

      Holy Moses, I exclusively run on concrete too! But there’s no way I would afford a new pair of shoes every month 😦 I do buy really good insoles. And on my next pair I’m going to buy the insoles they have to form to your foot. I’ll check out that article.

  2. tiffanybluegirl23 says:

    I usually track my miles by my Nike+ GPS or my Garmin. I’m a bit OCD about it too because I don’t wear my running shoes except to train and run races. When I retire a pair those become my “everyday, beat around shoes”.

    I just received my brand new Brooks Ghost 5’s today. Early birthday/Christmas present from my friend Tracy. Can’t wait to take them out for a run tonight eeeeeeee!

Leave a Reply

