Date Night and 11 Miles

All day yesterday was spent on the couch, and drinking lots of this.

20120811-160023.jpg

I had a little pinch in my throat, and I didn’t want to get REALLY sick.

And I did buy 2 tons of green grapes, because they were super delicious and on sale!

20120811-160142.jpg

After all the resting and grape eating, I was looking forward to date night! But first hubs charmed his way into getting me to help grind 40lbs of chicken.

20120811-160332.jpg

He’s so romantic.

Once we were finished with the grinding,we were ready for some sushi!

20120811-160551.jpg

It’s a new place than just opened the day before, and they served us the biggest tuna nigiri pieces ever. I had to take 2 bites, because they were so big.

The spicy hamachi was amazing! I loved how they left big chunks and just drizzled the spicy sauce over the roll. Usually they mash the fish into a paste sorta and mix the sauce with the fish.

20120811-160802.jpg

And the Fairfield roll was just delicious!

20120811-160830.jpg

We finished off date night with some delicious ice cream. I went with salted caramel.

20120811-160916.jpg

When I woke up this morning I was ready to run! The pinch in my throat went away, and I was feeling really good.

11 miles went by pretty quick!

20120811-161615.jpg

My long runs are on a hilly road, really hilly. In fact it’s call “hill born”. And it was windy. But I just put one foot in front of the other and trudged on. I looked forward to the turn around at 5.5 miles and the 7 mile mark when I ate my gu.

20120811-161753.jpg

I think I like the espresso love the most! But the peanut butter is a close second. It really does taste like peanut butter.

Once I was showered, I whipped up a quick egg sandwich, and did some compressing.

20120811-161947.jpg

Then headed to “puppy playtime” at work. I brought Freya, and she was EXACTLY as crazy as I told everyone she would be.

20120811-162058.jpg

She basically “checked” all the dogs especially the largest ones. She did this by barking frantically at them and trying to be dominant and humping them. I just smiled and walked away.

Now that Freya was all worn out, I headed here to pick up some shoes. Freya came in with me and cuddled with all the sales people.

** side note, you can pretty much bring your dog into any store that doesn’t serve food. Just being a doggy bag to pick up any messes. Or better yet, take them potty before going in. This is great socialization for puppies and adults alike.**

20120811-162254.jpg

They had a $9.99 deal on flip flops. I thought they would be perfect for compression sock wearing days.

20120811-162349.jpg

I also got Carlo a pair in the men’s version (he wears man-sized shoes now!) And the second pair were 1/2 off! Both pairs for $15! I was beyond excited!

I was very much in need of a nap after all that fun.

What are your go-to’s for when you start to feel sick?

What’s your favorite kind of sushi?

Did you score any amazing deals this weekend?

Cheers!

7 thoughts on “Date Night and 11 Miles

  1. Jennifer Stuart says:

    I love how you said two “tons” of grapes πŸ™‚
    I felt sick today and drank lots of water, ate some saltines, took vitamins, and am going to indulge in some tea shortly.
    Those sushi rolls look amazing! I’m a sucker for the California roll and anything tuna. Also, squid is sometimes delicious. There was some type of crispy squid roll or something that I used to get…usually I try new things and forget them by the next time I go πŸ™‚

  2. gabby.runs says:

    That sushi looks amazing! My favorite is the octopus or what the place I gto to calls the “Rainbow Roll.” Sounds like an overall good date night, too. πŸ™‚
    Your run sounds challenging, but way to power through! I’ve never used GUs before, do they really help on the long run? Also curious about compression socks. Been thinking about getting a pair, but skeptical about the actual benefits? Just curious. Plus, I have some cute Addidas sandals to wear them with. πŸ˜‰
    My and I are taking the afternoon to shop so hopefully we come across some good deals!
    Hope all is well and best of luck with your running!

    • drinkrunyoga says:

      I can definitely tell the difference when I have had a Gu on my long runs. Especially the espresso love, it has 2x the caffeine which definitely helps!

      And as for compression socks, I am a firm believer in ice and compression after my long runs. I feel less sore, and most of the time not sore at all. I know the compression has to do with the pounding repetition and trying to bring the blood flow to your upper body. Basically “cleansing” in a way. I don’t know the complete science, and it may be a placebo effect, but it works for me πŸ˜‰

      • gabby.runs says:

        Okaey, awesome! I’ve been thinking aboutgetting a pair of the compression socks, so I might have to grab a pair this weekend and try them out. Thank you for answering my questions! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

