Weekly Recap 7/29-8/4

It’s been a few weeks since I have done a weekly recap. I’m a little bummed about that. I like to be able to look back and track, but going forward I’m going to try and commit to being more consistent.

Here’s the work outs:
Sunday-off
Monday-4 miles, fit test 25 min
Tuesday-6miles, plyometric cardio circuit 45 min
Wednesday-unscheduled day off
Thursday-4miles
Friday-cardio power resistance 40 min (triceps are still sore from this work out!)
Saturday-10 miles

Total mileage- 24 miles
Total cross training time-110 minutes

When I look at the numbers I really am proud of myself. I got in all the miles I was planning, and although I didn’t do every insanity work out I planned I’m really happy with how much I did. So I’ll give myself a pat on the back 😉

Today is a scheduled day off, and I spent most of it in the couch or sleeping. I had my entire morning planned out with watching the women’s marathon. I recorded the live broadcast at 3 am so I could watch it and fast forward through the commercials.

20120805-201220.jpg

I really look forward to the marathon every Olympics. Even the ones where I was REALLY overweight and envying all the athletes. It’s hard to believe that 4 years ago I was watching the marathon and thinking “one day I want to run one” and this year thinking, “I can’t believe I ran a marathon last year, and didn’t die! I can’t wait to run another one and beat my time!”

Crazy, right?!

The ladies competing were super hard core. And I was surprised at how popular the marathon has become. 116 women competed from 67 countries. Some didn’t finish, but they can all call themselves Olympians. They are awesome just for qualifying.

The course seemed pretty annoying with all the turns and the fact they would have to do an 8 mile loop 3 times after the first 2 mile loop.

20120805-201823.jpg

And here’s the winner!

20120805-202342.jpg

Ethiopia’s own Tiki Gelana got the gold! And here’s the results of the top 5.

20120805-202505.jpg

Shalane Flanagan and Kara Goucher from the US, finished 10th and 11th. Here’s a shot of Kara peeling Shalane off the pavement after they were finished. Good effort ladies!

20120805-202643.jpg

It was a pretty exciting race, and I really enjoyed watching all the back stories of the athletes.

After watching the marathon, and some beach volley ball, I headed into work to work 4pm – 2am. Yuck. I hate floor cleaning service days. At least hubs is taking care of the dogs for me in the morning.

Did you watch the women’s marathon?

Did you get in all your planned work outs this week?

Cheers!

3 thoughts on “Weekly Recap 7/29-8/4

  1. tiffanybluegirl23 says:

    I watched the marathon rebroadcast this afternoon with my son and also a running buddy via text (even though she lives a mere 20 miles away). The back stories were great. I loved being able to watch their form as they ran; though (silver medalist) kick made me hurt. All in all I have to say watching today has inspired me to find my greatness for my half in November!

    I like seeing you post your weekly recaps. I might have to start that. You did great this week with miles and minutes cross training. Keep it up!

  2. Laura says:

    I am bummed I missed being able to watch the women’s marathon as having had 6 weeks off from running, I certainly could use the inspiration! Glad you had a good week. 🙂

Leave a Reply

