Olympic inspiration

Last night hubs and I had “date night”. We headed over to our favorite spot for the happy hour deals.

20120804-103540.jpg

It’s a fusion Mexican restaurant. Really meaning that it’s just a “fancy” Mexican restaurant and over charge for a burrito. But their happy hour deals aren’t bad. Hubs and I each ordered one of their $2 beers.

20120804-103710.jpg

We split some mussels, and each ordered a tapas (street tacos for me, fish for hubs).

20120804-103822.jpg

We ate the food so fast, I didn’t get to take a picture. But before we left hubs and I started discussing sangria. He asked if I wanted to split one. I told him, “no way, that stuff is way to syrupy.” he explained that it’s really supposed to be refreshing than “juicy”. So I told him I would try a taste if he wanted to order some.

20120804-104107.jpg

I was hooked after the first sip! It was so refreshing and not as sweet as it looks. I’m so glad I tried it. It’s not syrupy at all.

Oh and I almost forgot to tell you, I got a new haircut.

20120804-104314.jpg

And my husband says I look like a boy. Thanks babe. You are so charming.

This morning I had 10 miles on the agenda. I set my alarm for 6 am, then I woke up at 3 am to then reset my alarm for my usual 7 am. This put me in the mindset of “I’ll probably run the 10 tomorrow”.

I got up at 7 did my normal routine, turned on the Olympics, and then saw this commercial.

20120804-104949.jpg

It basically just this kid running, and a voice over guy saying “everyone has greatness, you just have to find it”.

How can I skip a run, after that?

I trekked myself upstairs and put on my running gear, and got my water pack ready, and was out the door my 7:35 am.

I had finally downloaded “50 shades of grey” audiobook.

20120804-105306.jpg

And you know what? The book made the run so easy! I have been doing all my runs solo, and music is nice, but I tend to zone out and think about stupid stuff. You know, “I have 4 miles to go, geez this is like forever!” or “omg is that a weird pain in my knee, I can’t do this, I want to stop!” I actually didn’t over think about anything. I paid attention to the book the entire time, and I am really enjoying it! It’s very provocative. I would highly recommend audiobooks for anyone who is bored with their routine, or just wants something different.

Before I knew it I was at 10 miles and done!

20120804-105642.jpg

And here’s my mile by mile breakdown.

20120804-105707.jpg

20120804-105736.jpg

You can see I really started getting in a groove around mile 7.

While icing and compressing I am enjoying more Olympics. And rooting for that guy with no legs. Oscar Pistorious from South Africa is quite an inspiration, having both of his legs amputated and wanted to compete with all the regular Olympians. And he was cleared, and just came in 2nd in the race I watched. Very remarkable!

20120804-110309.jpg

Have you tried Sangria? Did you like it?

Did you guys get in your long run today?

Have you seen that Nike commercial?

Cheers!

8 thoughts on “Olympic inspiration

  1. stevebonthrone says:

    That’s interesting about listening to an audiobook while you run, I must try it sometime! Oscar Pistorius was born with deformed shin bones and his parents made the decision to have his legs amputated when he was 7. His progress is stunning and I’m looking forward to see his next races. Happy running! And drinking! Ha ha

  2. Kris says:

    Isn’t it awesome! And to say he has an advantage? Craziness! I loved that Nike commercial. The best they have had in a while. It stuck with me as I did my first mud run today. So motivational!

  3. atothewr says:

    I did get in my long run today and Oscar favored heavily in my inspiration. I will always think of him when I think I can’t do it. How inspiring? No, you don’t look like a boy with that haircut – just saying.

  4. cathyo says:

    Good for you for getting out there and running. I was not as motivated and didn’t get mine in today, but Im planning on getting it done tomorrow bright and early. Love the haircut! Tell nibs he doesn’t know what he is talking about! (they so rarely do! LOL)

  5. tiffanybluegirl23 says:

    My son (9) actually first saw the commercial and pointed it out to me, “momma if that kid can run on a country road and be great you can too. we’ve got lots of country roads for you to run and be great on.” My long run got side lined by recovery from my grandfather’s 100th bday party last night and the week leading up to it. Official half training starts tomorrow though… Pray for me lol. I did watch the women’s marathon today. Those ladies rock!

Leave a Reply

