Fun times at the dentist

I absolutely HATE going to the dentist. Don’t get me wrong, when I have a toothache or a scheduled appointment I go! However this has been a more hectic than usual year. I was up for my 6 month check up about 3 months ago. It was definitely on my mind. I thought about it on my days off, and of course, while I brushed my teeth every morning. But I didn’t call the dentist until a chunk of tooth came off while flossing. I was pretty much so freaked out I called the dentist and left a long message.

Long story, short, here’s the problem.

20120710-064547.jpg

This is a picture of the screen where they took a picture with a tiny camera of my tooth. Not sure if you can tell, but there’s a noticeable gap between the two teeth.

Here’s the x-ray.

20120710-064834.jpg

Basically the dentist said I must have cracked it and not noticed. Then food kept getting in the crack, creating a very deep cavity.

Great.

First off, if I had come 3 months ago I would have prevented this. And second, now I need a crown! Aren’t crowns for OLD people? I’m 28, damn I feel old.

So as skeptical as I was…

20120710-070516.jpg

I went ahead and signed off for the work. They also talked me into the zirconia crown. Basically the rolls royce of crowns. Then came the injections. 1, 2, 3, 4, “ok go sit in the waiting room while we get the instruments ready”.

15 minutes later I was back in the chair, and he began drilling. Except I felt really intense cold pain!

Left arms goes up! “ouch that hurts, very cold” in my best dentist voice.

He shoots me up 3 more times. Waits a few more minutes, then begins drilling again. The intense cold pain happens again, and again, and again. I think we are over 15 injections at this point. I’m pretty much freaking out that this will not get done, or that they will have put me under.

He waits a little longer on the last one, and FINALLY he was able to drill. At That point my jaw was hurting so bad, from having to hold it open for so long. It still hurts this morning.

About 4 hours later (from the time I came in, until I was done) they were cementing my crown and I was walking out.

I get to go back in 3 weeks for my permanent crown. And while I was there I made an appointment for Carlo. I was pretty numb after all the injections, an the dentist said I couldn’t eat anything for 4 hours. However I went ahead and ate some soup about 2 hours after (it was already 8:30).

20120710-071410.jpg

I must have been starving, just the broth was the best tasting broth EVER!

The rest of the numbing solution wore of right before bed. And I got to go to bed with a migraine.

Awesome.

Moral of the story: don’t skip your dentist check ups! They could have detected a smaller cavity and just filled it.

Running 3 miles today is totally out.

Have you been to the dentist lately? Do you like going to the dentist? Have any dentist horror stories?

Cheers!

2 thoughts on “Fun times at the dentist

Leave a Reply

