Elaborating

Yesterday I talked about my favorite 4th of July treat. The traditional flag cake made with angel food cake, cool whip, strawberries and blue berries. I told you about my secret ingredient. However I forgot to elaborate! Here’s the pic from yesterday.

20120705-085823.jpg

Here’s what I forgot to mention. You don’t just put chocolate pieces on angel food cake. Ew. You put chocolate pieces on warm, out of the oven angel food cake. Then spread the melted chocolate around.

20120705-090013.jpg

Then add

20120705-090034.jpg

And some strawberries to create this mess.

20120705-090124.jpg

Normally I make the flag out of strawberries and blueberries. But since I worked late, all I could muster is the mess…and it tasted just as good.

And here’s the recipe for the potato salad.

Baked Potato Salad

2 1/2 pounds of golden potatoes (other types of potatoes can be used)
1 cup of Greek yogurt
1/2 cup mayonnaise
1 tbs Dijon mustard
1/4 cup low fat milk (I used almond and it was delicious)
5 strips of cooked turkey bacon
1 tbs of sliced green onions (I sliced the entire bunch, more green onions is always better)
Salt and pepper to taste

Boil potatoes for 15-20 minutes until Cooked. While potatoes are cooking, put strips of bacon on plate and cook for 4-5 minutes in microwave. Mix together Greek yogurt, mayo, mustard, milk, salt and pepper. Once potatoes are cooked, dice and add them to yogurt mixture while still hot. Mix all ingredients together, try not to mix too much so the potatoes don’t break up too much. Crumble bacon and green onions on top.

20120705-090932.jpg

It literally was one of the best potato salads I have ever made. I enjoyed it warm, and chilled. I think it was better when it was warm. But still really good when it was chilled. If you are planning on bringing it to a BBQ, or serving it chilled. Put the bacon and green onions on right before serving so its still crunchy! When refrigerated the bacon gets soft. The whole thing took about 15 minutes to make.

And in case you’re wondering, I decided to NOT run today. My hips are feeling a little better, but I woke up late. I MAY do the miles when I get home. The only thing holding me back is the fact that I HATE working out after work. I know…I need to suck it up.

What’s your favorite potato salad recipe?

Cheers!

2 thoughts on “Elaborating

Leave a Reply

