Third time is a charm

I’m trying it one more time. Is exactly what I told myself about spinning. But before we get into spinning, first Jessica and I hit up the weights.

20120625-114150.jpg

We worked our shoulders and back.

20120625-114223.jpg

And we did some Ab work (my least favorite, but most needed as you can see by my belly!)

20120625-114332.jpg

I was really enjoying our shoulder/back/Ab work out. I had completely forgotten we were about to meet up with my nemesis.

20120625-114446.jpg

We went into the class early, and before we could talk to the instructor about what I’m doing wrong, another girl snagged her. I had been having knee pain during and after the class. Jessica gave me a few pointers:

1. Keep my feet flat (I know I was pointing my toes in the classes before)

2. Make sure you are allowing for the circle motion, complete the circle.

3. Keep your knees in

4. Push up and down with your legs.

5. Keep your “angry-because-I’m-working-so-hard-and-I-like-it” face on at all times.

20120625-114831.jpg

And guess what?? The pain in my knee only came up for a few minutes. And I’m pretty sure it was because I didn’t have the setting high enough. Yay me! So I guess you can’t just go to a spin class and expect to just pretend like its a normal bike and pedal. You really have to focus on your core, and your thighs. It seems like a given, but it wasn’t for me. I was pedaling with my feet/knees, hence the pain. Once I focused on getting a good thigh work out, NO PAIN! Woot!

And guess what? I Almost pedaled 19 miles!

20120625-115228.jpg

After all that fun stuff, I was craving my oatmeal.

20120625-115338.jpg

And some Real Housewives.

20120625-115412.jpg

Love me some juicy dramatic reality TV. Ya buddy!

Thoughts on spinning?

What’s your favorite reality TV show?

Cheers!

6 thoughts on “Third time is a charm

  1. paralaxvu says:

    And here I thought spinning was done with llama wool! I’m waiting for R to come home from Asia so we can go to the gym together. I’ve never been before and need to be really careful…bad back, long-ago laminectomies, blah-de-blah-blah-blah. Hoping spinning isn’t recommended for me;-)

  2. coachcrystalspadawan says:

    I used to do spinning class back in school, but have found that more than about ten minutes on a bike now makes my privates fall asleep. That is a very disturbing feeling… so I have forsworn spin… unless I figure out what I am doing wrong. I hope that wasnt TMI…

  3. gabby.runs says:

    I’ve never tried spinning … Heard too many horror stories! Haha might just stick to running and weight lifting instead even after your great tips. 🙂
    My mom and i enjoy our housewives too. I say both of us because we have to watch them together because my dad can’t stand them. Men just don’t understand our need for reality tv nowadays …
    Best of luck in everything! Have a wonderful day!

  4. maxineyvr says:

    Glad the spinning went better this time!!! It is a great workout to build leg and cardio strength for runners. Before I started teaching, my seat was always too low and noticed knee pain then. Good to mix it up and keep the body guessing! You are lucky to have a gym buddy too.

Leave a Reply

