Yoga, ice cream, and 50 laps

After yesterday’s 9 mile run, I really wanted to take it easy today. First up, yoga! I opted for this yoga sesh, courtesy of my cable network.

20120611-152554.jpg

I wanted to make sure I got the pups out before it got too hot.

20120611-152634.jpg

5 weeks have flown by!

After some lunch and a nap, Carlo brass and I headed out for a short walk.

20120611-152804.jpg

We headed here

20120611-152834.jpg

We each got one of these awesome 170 calorie (according to myfitnesspal) treats

20120611-152934.jpg

After our walk and treat, we were super ready for some pool action. We lathered up with some of this

20120611-153026.jpg

Then I swam 50 laps (2 lengths of the pool is one lap) here

20120611-153200.jpg

When was the last time you went swimming? What’s your favorite stroke?

I prefer the back stroke, as long as I don’t break my head

Cheers!

7 thoughts on “Yoga, ice cream, and 50 laps

  1. Liz @ Run Fat Chick Run! says:

    Another fantastic day. The puppies look like little chocolate morsels of fun! So freaking cute! As far as swimming goes, I am a horrible swimmer. I have no favorite stroke because about the only thing I can do is flail around a bit and keep my head above water. A girlfriend of mine is hellbent on teaching me to actually swim like a human being. She has dreams of me doing a triathalon that actually includes swimming as opposed to kayaking or stand up paddle boarding (both of which I really love). I am, however, a swimming failure. 😉

    • drinkrunyoga says:

      I was lucky that I got a shot with mom and all 7 pups in the pic. As soon as I put them down, they all go in different directions.

      And as far as swimming goes, I am a HORRIBLE swimmer. It took me nearly an hour to swim 50 laps. I kept asking Carlo, “what was I thinking??” He was great and kept saying, “you can do it!”

      I am pretty sure if you put your mind to the triathlon idea, you could totally do it! I tried the kayak version of a tri with eppie’s in sac. NOT. A. FAN. Waaaaaaaaaaaaaay too much work on race day. Plus I was freaking out that my tires would pop, or I would get a hole in my kayak. I did end up flipped over at one point (kayak not bike)…..good thing I was wearing a life jacket, and there was a “rescue kayaker” guy nearby.

  2. tiffanybluegirl23 says:

    As a matter of fact I went swimming this morning. I am incorporating swimming in as my x-training three days a week. My favorite stroke is freestyle with breast stroke a close second. Though today you would have thought I have never done anything remotely cardio involved lol.

    My treat today was three chocolate hostess donettes (because six is 360 calories so I have 3 for tomorrow).

    • drinkrunyoga says:

      I did the breast stroke on every other lap. I would ask my stepson questions, like “If I have to swim 50 laps, and I have already swam 34, how many do I have left to swim?” SO you know I wasn’t working THAT hard. However i was just focused on moving my arms in the water enough to get a decent arm work out 😉

      Nice treat 🙂 I have to admit that anything hostess related is a vice for me. I would have devoured all of them…

  3. coachdougbowers says:

    Is “floundering around” considered a style? Of all the sports I participate in I never became a good swimmer. I envy you…well done.
    Love the puppies…pass on the Mickky D’s though.

    you are a goer that’s for sure – keep it up.

    doug

Leave a Reply

