Mile 4

I think every runner has a moment in their run where they feel like they can go on forever or want to run more. This is around mile 4 for me. I don’t know why I have been talking myself out of running over 4 miles. (i do know why…I’m lazy!) Today’s run made me feel like I was on top of the world. I finished with 5.5 miles.

20120510-094541.jpg

I ran my miles this morning in my new compression socks.

20120510-095042.jpg

It felt good, and I think helped on those miserable hills.

Post run I had my favorite breakfast. Greek yogurt, peanut butter, kashi go lean crunch cereal, and banana slices.

20120510-095213.jpg

And watched some tv while I ate my delicious breakfast.

20120510-095348.jpg

At what mile do you feel euphoric?

Cheers!

6 thoughts on “Mile 4

  1. Black Sheep says:

    I am just a beginning runner.. I am so damn happy when I can do a 1/2 mile with no walking.. and I was almost dead when I did a full solid mile on Sunday.. a total of 1 and a 1/2 miles with only a little walk.. thought I was going to fall over but when I got home.. I was energized.. and felt almost high.. not during my run.. but certainly after.

  2. tomddean says:

    I still remember the first time I hit that euphoric feeling. I was on a 9 or 10 mile run and although miles 1-6 progressively sucked more and more, something weird happened at 7 and I just perked up… started really enjoying the run… and felt like I was as energized as when I started! There’s got to be some medical explanation for this phenomenon… Runner’s high I think it’s called?
    Anyways, I haven’t really experienced that same sensation (to anywhere close to the same degree at least) since then though. Of course, since returning to running, only this weekend do I finally have my first >5k run planned.

  3. Henry Runs says:

    The question of which mile does a runner feel euphoric has come up before and I have to admit that I don’t know that I have ever hit it. Or at least not often enough to recognize a certain point in my run when it usually occurs. I feel like I am missing out!

  4. Two Moms says:

    I dont think I have ever hit that point yet. It might just be too early in my running game. 🙂 Love the socks!! Also was thinking of trying your breakfast – looks good. Modern family is a fav of mine. Glad you had a great run today.

  5. Heather says:

    Since my injury, I haven’t really felt euphoric due to distance. I’m just happy to do what little I can and start building up slowly. Prior to injury, I’d say the 5 mile mark was my “I can run forever” mark.

    I, too, love Modern Family!

  6. cathyo says:

    I’m still waiting for that runner’s high and I’ve run far before. Definitively didn’t feel it at all in my marathon training 5 years ago. Still waiting for it as I train for a half now. I wonder if I will even know it if I do hit it! I love your socks, btw…and Modern Family is one of the best shows ever! Phil kills me!

Leave a Reply

