Makes me wonder

While I was reading the May 2012 Runner’s World magazine

20120411-144545.jpg

I ran across something that made me think…

20120411-144648.jpg

I know this pic is blurry, it says

“Allow for no excuses, ‘Runner’s claim a minor mishap as a reason to stop running, but usually something else in your life is going on’ says Burningham. If you falter, recommit by revisiting your original motivations”

I do feel like my twinge in my knee was real. However today I didn’t do anything like I had planned. I wanted to do some low impact sort of exercise like bike riding or walking. Then all of a sudden I was just “ok” with not doing a damn thing.

Something else in my life is going on. I changed locations for where I work. I still work for the same company, but now I work closer to home. I was really excited at first. I mean, you can’t beat a 10 minute commute! Then after I met all the other employees I would be managing and working with I was very disappointed. I worked in Napa off and on for over 5 years. They were like family to me. I miss them all dearly, and yes I still chat with them on Facebook and text my old coworkers. It’s just not the same. I don’t look forward to going to work, let alone waking up. I’m just plain sad. I know running will help me with this.

I am now done wallowing, time to recommit! How can I turn this around?

Start by doing.

Tomorrow I will most definitely get in some sort of exercise. My knee feels super better and up to the challenge.

I’m looking forward to getting over this hump, it just takes time. I definitely don’t want to waste it by gaining weight and making excuses!

What are your tips on staying committed and motivated?

Cheers!

8 thoughts on “Makes me wonder

  1. Chasing Fifty says:

    I have to admit, my workouts are my motivation. Everything else can be falling apart, but I know I can enjoy my run, bike, or swim.

  2. elisariva says:

    I have a training partner and that helps so much with accountability. If we are not meeting to workout, we know each other’s schedule and check in to see how it went. If she works out and I don’t I feel very guilty.

  3. coachcrystalspadawan says:

    Sorry to hear you’re sad about your move… but you will make friends with these new guys soon (or they will get fired and you can make friends with the new guys)!! As for motivation, how about signing up for an obstacle course where you are afraid your wife will crush you… She graduated magna cum laude…I still hear about it. Staying close is motivation!! haha.

  4. Henry Runs says:

    Excellent point and post! The thing that helps me the most is being a part of a running group. Running with a group makes you more accountable (particularly on days you don’t feel like lacing up the shoes) and many times, it is a great time to talk about what is going on while you run. We have some great conversations as we venture out into the local neighborhoods.

  5. thisismyeverest says:

    I know exactly what you (and that little blurb!) mean and I’m so glad I read this. I need to revisit my motivations because I’ve fallen off the workout wagon yet again and I’m not accepting any of my old excuses anymore! You’ll get through the changes and get back up to speed. We both will!

  6. terrileeclarke says:

    Do you know if any of your new co-workers runs or works out? This is something you’ve probably already thought of, but if you could pal up with some of them before/after work, or get a walk at lunchtime maybe that would help ease the newness?
    Best of luck to you, I’ve been in the situation where on Sunday I woke up already dreading work on Monday! I hope it gets better soon.

  7. maxineyvr says:

    For me, the reason I fail is because of what I put into my mouth, mostly at night when sitting on the couch, or training too hard with a knee injury. Taking a day off and recommitting the next day is a good idea.

  8. peoriafitnessgirl says:

    Hello. I know how you feel. Can you run or walk to work? Once a month I work day shift and that’s how I get excited about it. If the weather is nice I take my work stuff in the night before and I run to work and back home. It gives me something to look forward to. Just a thought.

Leave a Reply

