Boomer and compression socks

It was a weird Monday schedule since the store where I work at had inventory. I was scheduled to work at 6, which meant waking up at 4:30 to get to work on time.

Blarg…

It was my last day at that store, since I am being transferred to a store (same company) 10 minutes from my house. My boss threw me a somewhat surprise party. It included this cake…

20120402-171607.jpg

We forgot to take a picture until after a few of us already had a slice. Oops! I certainly felt the love! They didn’t want to put “good bye Tiffany” in case I changed my mind and wanted to come back. I will definitely miss that bunch 🙂

After work I decided on a run. We are “dog sitting” Boomer for a week. He’s the lucky guy I took with me on the run today.

20120402-172853.jpg

I opted for 3 miles since I had never run with Boomer, and because I wanted to push myself a little harder today.

20120402-173010.jpg

I think I did pretty good. After all, I am supposed to run a 10k in less than 3 weeks. I have a goal, and it involves more speed work in order to achieve it.

Hubs picked up a pair of compression sock for me yesterday. It’s the under armor brand, and they are labeled as “post work out or post game socks”

20120402-173659.jpg

He picked them up from Big 5, and they were on sale for $10 bucks.

I put them on right after my run then shower, and I definitely feel “compressed”

20120402-173910.jpg

I feel the compression around my calves, but not so much around my feet. I really want to try some medical grade ones, they run about 60 bucks so I’ll wait for mother’s day or something.

What’s your thoughts on compression socks?

Do you have a favorite brand?

Cheers!

25 thoughts on “Boomer and compression socks

  1. atothewr says:

    I’ve done the compression sleeves and not the socks. I’m about half and half on them. Sometimes they seem to work and sometimes they seem to hinder me. They have helped with recovery in the past – mostly after I have run.

    Nice time on the 3 miler. 10K isn’t so bad, hang in there. I have one myself in a few weeks.

    • drinkrunyoga says:

      I’ve done a few 10k’s, but I’m hoping to really get a great time (of course) and not injure myself! And as far as the hindering, I don’t think I will wear these ones while I run. I worry about getting blisters, and have sensitive feet. Only time will tell I guess.

  2. cronesk says:

    I want to try them too. In my Kung fu practice we used to wrap our calves with sashes in order to not cramp thru jumps and kicks! I’m gonna buy pink ones!

  3. magnuminsp says:

    I was going to try them to help prevent injuries to my calfs, but I was too late. Are you going to wear them after or during the 10K?
    My MiL has the medical grade ones as she has vein issues and she says they are great for that purpose.

  4. Big Mike's World says:

    Since my leg surgeries I was given Mediven compression socks(20-30 Firm compression rating) to wear all the time. I love running in them, they are the sport/active kind with more padding in the sole. I also have a pair of Zensah compression calf sleeves that I use for other activities like softball and P90X workouts.

  5. burtonator says:

    Placebo.. the only study on them was funded by Under Armour themselves and it was a SHIT study. I think like 5 participants max.

    There’s basically NO evidence that it works.

    Would love to be proven wrong though. I’m open minded but the default position should always be skepticism.

  6. Happy Runner says:

    I have these: Vitalsox Patented Peformance Graduated Compression Socks. I bought them at a Rock ‘n Roll marathon expo and love them! Once you have them on, you don’t want to take them off ever again. I use them post-race.

  7. coachdougbowers says:

    I’ve never tried compression socks. However after my Muay Thai class with a ton of skipping and kicking, my right calf is always sore. I think I’ll give them a try!
    Nice time on the run by the way.
    doug

  8. cutedogsandhugs says:

    What a cute pup.

    I like compression socks, or should I say I like them on other people because I’m pretty sure my legs would just look like sausage in too-small casings. My calves are huge (not in a good way)… I don’t know if I would ever wear them running though because I’d think it would feel strange being that constricted, but I would wear them after a long run.

    PS – That is a kick ass pace!

    • drinkrunyoga says:

      Boomer is quite handsome in his own way ;P I feel the same way as you do with compression socks and how you will look while wearing them. I think EVERYONE thinks they have HUGE (fill in the blank) and basically I plan on only wearing them around the house. I felt really good running at that pace, I’m striving to keep it up!

  9. Henry Runs says:

    I’ve never tried compression socks and I have to admit I don’t think I’ve heard of them before. I will have to check them out to see how they work. Great time on the 3 miles!

  10. Kris says:

    Excuse my ignorance, but what is the idea behind the compression socks and working out? I’ve only heard of them for medical reasons. I hope I can run that fast some day. Good job!

  11. elisariva says:

    I have run on compression socks and sleeves – help a bit on long runs but aren’t the end all. I wear them more when I fly to races and the day before to keep swelling down. That really helps a lot!

Leave a Reply

