Lucky Run…

Should have been called un-lucky run. I am still debating on whether or not to take a sharpie to my lucky run shirt with the letters “un-” in front of lucky.

20120317-192333.jpg

Let me take a few steps back and explain. First off, I woke up at 4:50. I didn’t even wake up multiple times throughout the night (which is a first). I got to bed by 10:30 and felt really good when I woke up. I had set my coffee and it was all ready for me when I woke up. I ate 1/2 of a very large banana and some peanut butter.

20120317-192551.jpg

I was feeling good, but I’m still not a “morning person”. I headed out the door with all of my stuff in tow at 5:45. I even remembered to pack chocolate milk post run. I got to Davis high school around 6:20. Registration didn’t open until 6:45, so I scoped out the best parking spot. I got one right between the start and finish and next to the portapotties. This was perfect since I didn’t want to sweat check anything.

20120317-192827.jpg

I was very close to the portapotties! And excited about it, hence the picture. I took care of business then headed back to the car. I sat for awhile and reviewed some of the race details on my phone while I waited for packet pick up to open up.

20120317-192948.jpg

The time had come, it was a little after 6:45, so I stepped out of my car, grabbed my jacket, left my car door open, locked my car, and then it happened! Another car wanted to park in the spot next to mine, they waved at me to shut my door. I obliged, an didn’t grab my keys.

20120317-193204.jpg

I also didn’t grab my phone. This pic was taken later…

So I immediately got upset. I headed over to the registration tent. I talked to a girl there who looked like she was in charge. However was completely clueless when it came to my problem. She told me to run my race, then after thy would call a locksmith??

Omg

Are you flipping stupid? I don’t want to leave my car here unattended with my keys in the front seat where some crazy Davis hippie could break into my car and take my everything. My purse was in there, my phone, keys, life…

So I call my husband, maybe 20 times. No answer. I finally try to text him. He still ignoring me. Finally around 7:15 he calls back. He’s upset because he has to go to work and I’m inconveniencing him. Forgot he doesn’t work well under pressure. But the race people here are idiots, and no one offered a better plan. Oh ya and I had hijacked this persons phone and kept having them unlock it and go into proper screens.

Why doesn’t everyone just have an iPhone? Ugh!

Finally after debating all of my options

*get a tow truck guy

*in-laws bring keys

That’s all we came up with.

We opted for the in laws to bring keys. (We just didn’t want to pay for someone to come out to unlock the car). Only catch, they live over 50 minutes away and have to stop at my house, another 5-10 minutes to get the keys.

While I was waiting a lot of tears was going on, reality set in. I wasn’t going to run the race. I trained hard for this, I felt prepared, and it wasn’t going to happen.

I walked to my car to continue to cry in peace, however the portapotties were literally steps away so in pretty sure hundreds of people saw me crying.

I’m such a baby!

Then some girl came over to ask if I wanted some water and if I was ok. I was taken off guard. I thanked her, but declined. Then I realized I was being a bitch, and explained my situation. She understood and said I should run anyways. She offered her phone and said I should call my father in law and have him meet me along the route. It was tempting, believe me. Then another girl offered her triple a service, but this was 5 minutes before the race. Too late! So the girl took my number and texted me. I texted her to let her know I was ok, and for her to look me up on Facebook, which she totally did.

Very cool.

My father in law finally got there around 8:45. He made awesome time. Seriously, huge thanks to you! He doesn’t know I have a blog, but if he ever did I want to make sure I give a proper shout out.

I called hubs to let him know I was ok. Hubs brought up the fact that I should ask if I could still run. So I ran over to the registration tent, it was empty. I did ask a few volunteers if I could talk to someone about it, they were clueless. I looked at the start and realized the timing thing was gone. Maybe they only have one and use it for both start and finish? I dunno. I just know it was gone. I was even tempted to just run, then saw all the cones at the beginning taken down. I thought that I might get lost, so I just decided to go home.

More tears came. I walked away.

I drove back home super disappointed. Maybe I’ll attempt it next year?

Don’t worry all this training won’t go to waste, I’m running my own half marathon on Monday. I am going to wear my un-lucky run shirt, and try to take the jinx out of it. I am very superstitious. I pretty much wanted o throw it away when I got home. And hubs said he would buy me a half Mary necklace, sine I didn’t get my medal.

“just pick one out, and I’ll get it for ya” he tells me. He felt super bad for me being all alone.

Oh and to make the day awesomer, I ruined the corned beef! Hubs was not happy… He ended up eating chicken nuggets. Omg makes me laugh thinking about it (at least i can laugh about something) And I drank 2 beers and a martini tonight, I think I totally earned it. I was completely exhausted after all that crying.

Things I learned:
*Call the fire department if you lock your keys in the car.
*Get AAA
*Talk to more people who are not stupid, faster.
*Don’t cry over every little thing.
*Trust that everything works out for a reason, maybe I was meant to meet those very cool chicks and I wouldn’t have if I was all happy.
*Frost bite is real! Wear gloves! My thumbs were completely numb, and even after being in my car for 40 minutes I was still shivering.
*Don’t lock your keys in the car.
*be more self reliant and resourceful. I could have found someone with an iPhone and totally worked something out….maybe?

So that was my lucky run…

Have you every had a terrible experience that disabled you from running a race? How did you handle it?

Cheers!

47 thoughts on “Lucky Run…

  1. kscat says:

    It’s okay to miss a race. You will have another chance. I see you are running your own half marathon on Monday. That’s admirable. I’m cheering for you.

  2. trikatykid says:

    A) You should definitely use a Sharpie to alter that shirt! It will give you a story every time you wear it.
    B) Good luck on your half marathon coming up, albeit solo. πŸ™‚
    C) I tie the controller (lock/unlock) thing to my shoe first thing. I leave the keys inside either in the console or in the glove box with my wallet, phone, etc: even if I am just out for a run.
    D) Race day is stressful and when something goes haywire like that, it’s OK to cry. You had a lot of energy built up for it and I’m sorry it didn’t work out.

    I don’t know why I started alphabetizing my answers.. I have had bad race situations as well. I trained hard for Vermont City Marathon in 2002 – the first marathon AFTER the 9/11 tragedies. I trained hard – too hard – and ended up with a nagging overuse injury. On race day, I decided to run anyway because I had paid for it and my friends would be there.
    My bib #?? 911. Even without the 9/11 tragedies, that’s an awful race number to have.
    Two miles into the marathon I realized my knee wasn’t going to fake 24.2 miles so I bailed.
    I was upset. I waited to cheer on my friends and then I took my bib into the food tent. The volunteer collecting the food tickets dared say to me, “you don’t look like you ran a marathon today.” No shit. Thanks.
    On the way home my contacts fogged up so badly I had to pull over in a blindness to remove them. I drove the rest of the way home with bloodshot eyes, disappointment (that you now understand) and a lot of regret and “what-ifs” playing through my mind.

    There will be other races. Remember, every race is a learning experience. Even (especially so) the ones that don’t go as planned, or go at all.

    Chin up. You’re awesome.
    -Katy

  3. offthelongrun says:

    Bummer – but everything happens for a reason – maybe if you did run you’d get an injury or someone upends you or any number of things – dismiss it and reset your goals.

    This will make you more determined and prepared for your next race – again a great post.

  4. sociallyfitblog says:

    If nothing else, you will remember this race forever! I gurantee this time next year you will chuckle about it and your husband will answer the phone on the first ring as well. It does sound like a totally sucky day but you know what that means…..things can only get better right? Well I hope your Sunday is awesomer than Saturday!

    • drinkrunyoga says:

      THINGS CAN ONLY GET BETTER, love this! And I do hope I remember this race forever, it’s a day that I can learn from, laugh from, and prevent from ever happening again.

  5. magnuminsp says:

    That really sucked!
    At least you learned that the fire department and law enforcement officers will “break” into your car if you lock the keys in it. You have to be careful though, or they may accidently knock the actuating rod off of the key lock and then it won’t work at all! You can also get a duplicate key made and then put it in a “hid-a-key” on the frame somewhere. If you hadn’t locked the phone in the car, I think there is an app for unlocking it on Itunes.

    As to the event that caused it, it boggles my mind why some people, given the choice of 2,000 parking spots, have to saddle up next to me, usually, when I am changing shirts or taking my son out of his car-seat!

    As for your husband, I think he owes you a nice dinner or something. There is one phone call I always answer, no matter what time of the day or what I am doing, and it is the one from my wife! πŸ™‚

    I am off for a round of golf and hope your day today is a better one!

    • drinkrunyoga says:

      Thanks for your kind words and great ideas! I see a very good sushi dinner in my future! In my husband’s defense I was calling from a stranger’s phone, but come on! I was calling him back to back like 20 times…haha anyways yes he totally owes me!

  6. sosheran says:

    OH NO! I’m so sorry the race didn’t work out. The good thing is that you were safe and there’s always other races, even though it’s incredibly frustrating to have things not work out. Could you find another race this weekend or something to run instead?

    • drinkrunyoga says:

      This is true, I was safe! And there are other races, great points! I didn’t even think about doing any other racing for the rest of the weekend. However I sat and thought about running it way too much, maybe that would have helped calm my mind.

  7. Julie Gravelle says:

    Man that sucks. Sorry you didn’t run.You did learn from it and I agree you should run with your shirt. Your own special race. Good luck

  8. cweelee73 says:

    I dont have a real running “career” right now, just started in Jan 2012… so nothing so bad has happened yet. But I can empathise and feel for you… wish there was someway to just magically re-do this day and make it happen for you. And I can understand how it might have happened cos my mornings are usually a daze for me too… and I can just imagine something like this happening to me.

    Well, make this a positive experience and learn from it! All the best in your next drink, run and yoga!

  9. Heather says:

    Aw, poor thing. I’m sorry you had a bad experience. That feeling of locking your keys in the car sucks. Good luck on your personal half. πŸ™‚

  10. Kimberly / ThePowerOfRun.com says:

    What a day! My heart ached for you when I saw the preview of this post earlier in the day. I knew it wasn’t good when those keys were on the seat. At least the shirts are cute! I say go for it. Write all over that thing. The one good thing about having a really bad race dayβ€”there’s a great story to tell! I hope today’s run is better. ❀

  11. savor the sweet life says:

    So sorry to hear about your unfortunate day!

    I have definitely locked my keys in my car before. The worst was when Jamie was living in Buffalo and I had come to visit him for the weekend. I left at lunch time and he had stopped by during his lunch to say goodbye. My mom had just installed automatic locks in my car, so when you turned it on, it automatically locked. Well, it snowed like 2 feet prior to that day so I had to brush off my car, I turn the car on so I can get the defrost going, grab my snow brush….and closed my door! Jamie had already left, no one was home in his neighborhood because they were all at work, and my car was running. Eventually I found a women who let me use her phone to call AAA but I had to spend like 10 minutes convincing her that I wasn’t a drug dealer haha. She worked at the hospital by Jamie’s house and let me hangout there until AAA came (three hours later).

  12. Gina says:

    I’m so sorry to hear about your unlucky day. I also believe everything happens for a reason, so I hope your next run is awesome! thanks for sharing your story. I’m always afraid of locking my keys in my car myself.

  13. cutedogsandhugs says:

    Sorry that your day went so poorly. I think it’s admirable that you decided to run your own half today. You’re dusting yourself off and picking yourself back up. That is SO awesome! There will always be another race.

  14. The Love of a Dog says:

    Ugh, how terrible! I definitely feel for you there…I’m sorry you had such a terrible run of luck…No one ever wants to spend so much time working for a goal only to have it slapped out of their reach…But, who knows? Maybe there was a reason you didn’t end up running it. If nothing else, you’ll be even more determined when the next half mar comes around, and you’ll never forget this race, that’s for sure! And you might even get your cheering section out there next time πŸ™‚

  15. Amy says:

    Oh my goodness! I’m so sorry for your bad race. (My Shamrock Shuffle was pretty unlucky too, but yours takes the cake!). I don’t think I would have been able to just leave my car with the keys in plain sight either. Good luck in your personal half today!

  16. dipseajenn says:

    Fat bummer!! I am so sorry to hear about the bad luck on race day. These are the stories that teach us and other’s about being prepared for the worst and sometimes there’s things that are out of our control and all we can do is cry and drink beer!! And way to beat the crap out of ur old PR on ur own 1/2!!!

    • drinkrunyoga says:

      I seriously debated on whether or not to post what had happened, but that’s the biggest reason why I felt I HAD to. A wise person learns from their mistakes, a wiser person learns from the mistakes of others. Yes, the crying and the beer drinking definitely helped!

  17. peoriafitnessgirl says:

    OMG! I believe everything happens for a reason. Maybe if you would have ran the race you would have tripped over a rock and broke your leg. There is a reason you were not supposed to run that race! Sorry that you had such a bad day but you will get em next time!

  18. Lauren says:

    Hi! I’m thinking about writing with sharpie on my dry-fit shirt for an upcoming marathon and I was wondering did the sharpie hold up? I’m worried about sweat/water?

    Thanks!

Leave a Reply

