Funky Tuesday

What happens when I decide to switch my 3 miler from Monday to Tuesday?

It rains on Tuesday…

Again the funk set in, so I decided to change up the routine. I made coffee, lunches, and took care of dogs. Then drank some coffee. Caffeine is not in my daily routine. I usually only drink it on my early shift day and on Sundays. However I needed something to help with the funk. So the coffee was amazing, and I wanted to try out the banana with peanut butter thing an hour before my run.

20120313-104548.jpg

I thought I would be nice and take Carlo to school this morning. This made hubs super happy! After taking Carlo to school I had about 15 minutes before the hour, so I decided to finally sign up for the Santa rosa 1/2 Marathon. I meant to sign up on Friday when I got paid, but I’m a slacker. So it’s official, I’m doing the Santa Rosa 1/2 marathon, it was on my list for this year. I am really looking forward to it!

So today’s agenda

3 mile run

Cardio x

I did both, and it did help with the funk! I’m not completely out of it, but feeling happier today for sure. I think signing up for the 1/2 marathon really perked me up πŸ™‚

Here’s a tip for when you have 2 work outs, that I try to do.

First off I like to start with my run, nothing worse than running on tired legs. Before I head out the door I have everything ready for my second work out.

I put out my yoga mat (cardio x starts with some yoga)

I put the DVD I’m going to do in the DVD player

Turn the tv to the right setting ie hdmi 1, then I turn the tv off (don’t want to waste too much electricity).

If your house is cold, turn on the heater, nothing worse than cooling down in a cold house. I don’t usually change my clothes so then it’s like working out in wet clothes in the second workout.

I also get a glass of water ready for myself.

This all takes about 3-5 minutes and when you get back from your run, you will have to work out. Well you would feel pretty bad if you didn’t.

20120313-105517.jpg

Here’s the set up!

It was definitely raining when I walked out the door.

20120313-105611.jpg

I avoid running in the rain, however it looks like it will be raining all week even on my 1/2 Mary day! So I just sucked it up to see what pace I was running at. I felt really good running, but I was definitely slower to avoid puddles and slipping. 3 miles in around 32 minutes. Just under 11 min/mile. I’ll take it, but I might have to alter my expectations for race day. I know I will have at least one other 1/2 marathon to run later in the year to work on improving.

On a completely unrelated note, last night my sister in law gave us the joplin painting in her version with a day of the dead flair!

20120313-110014.jpg

I am completely in love! And now we have a set with Johnny and Elvis

20120313-110101.jpg

How often do you guys run in the rain? Do you avoid it or embrace it?

What kind of arty flair do you like?

Cheers!

15 thoughts on “Funky Tuesday

  1. carrieontherun says:

    Sunshine here comes in the form of rain – every month of the year. Good ole Pacific NW. I really hate running in the rain, but I hate the treadmill more. Good job getting out there! Cool painting too.

    • drinkrunyoga says:

      I agree! Rain trumps treadmill, but I don’t have one so it’s run in the outdoors rain or shine for me πŸ™‚ I am in love with the new painting! I can’t stop looking at it.

  2. RunningToTahiti says:

    I actually love running in the rain! As long as it’s not a really cold rain. If it’s just rain and not freezing cold or windy, then I feel kind of energized by it. Thanks for such a great blog by the way! I run 3 miles every day but have felt like I needed to add something else to really get my body to transform. You’ve inspired me to order P90x. I didn’t think I could do it on top of my daily run, but I’m going to give it a try.

  3. tmarsh101 says:

    The banana peanut butter thing is my new pre-run food too! Kudos to you for getting out there in the rain. I don’t have to deal with that too often, but it’s easy to get thrown off track by the weather.

  4. Shauna says:

    Good for you for running in the rain! I did not pass go, did not collect $200 and went straight to the gym. I actually would like to run in the rain but I don’t have good rain running clothing options. Any suggestions for staying dry but not feeling humid and yucky?

    • drinkrunyoga says:

      I wear a long sleeve tech tee and my rain jacket meant for running, however I still feel sweaty and muggy during a run. I did a little research on getting a new jacket, but couldn’t find anything that fixed that problem. I guess I need to do more research, because it does bother me sometimes when I run with my “running jacket”.

  5. fitandfuninthird says:

    I’d like to say I don’t mind running in the rain, but that would be a complete lie. I actually hate it haha nothin worse then soggy shoes!!

  6. kahyehm says:

    Goodluck! Running in the rain is kind of nice… Even when avaoiding puddles, it gives you something of an unusual variety when running a route you run everytime.. πŸ™‚

  7. Ashley says:

    I love running in the rain! Not the pouring rain but a little drizzle is so much fun. I wear an older pair of gym shoes though because my new ones are too pretty for me to go stomping around in the mud.

  8. ashiashay says:

    I don’t love running in the rain either….but I’m learning. it just brings back memories of rowing in the rain in college and that was the worst. water everywhere! also, i love your paintings!!

    • drinkrunyoga says:

      Running in the rain is just part of running, i guess, and I don’t think anyone particularily “likes it”….it’s just one of those things you have to do to get in your miles when you don’t have a gym membership or a treadmill. I love my paintings too! I feel lucky to be related to such a talented person.

Leave a Reply

