Sunday Eats!

The spring time change sucks! Thank goodness I close (work the afternoon/evening shift) because I totally would not have made it to work this morning on time.

I wasn’t hungry at all this morning. So at 10 I finally decided I should probably eat something. Pineapple Chobani yogurt, banana slices, and kashi go lean crunch. Not my usual breakfast, but I have to eat the last bit of these before they go bad. I have 2 more and I’m kinda not looking forward to them.

20120311-103012.jpg

Mid morning snack will be one of these oranges.

20120311-103046.jpg

I’ll eat the other 2 sometime during the day. They are so good!

Lunch is black bean burger patty, 1/2 sweet potato and broccoli

20120311-103217.jpg

Mid day snack is hummus and cucumber slices

20120311-103256.jpg

Then for dinner I have trout, the other 1/2 or the sweet potato, and broccoli.

20120311-103349.jpg
I have also found that I like little extras on my lunches so stuff that shouldn’t be microwaved with the meal. Today I am packing a lemon for the fish and 1/2 and avocado.

20120311-103501.jpg

I also have an apple and cottage cheese for an after dinner snack.

20120311-103546.jpg

I also have some a nut mix and some cheese to eat just in case. Last Sunday I wasn’t really hungry so I brought almost 1/2 my lunch back home with me. So I just listen, but sometimes I’m ravenous and if I don’t have healthy food at my fingertips I will walk on over to the specialty bagel shop and buy a bagel. I hate doing that. So I over pack, and digress…

20120311-103831.jpg

Oh and last but not least do not forget cutlery. Nothing worse than having a fish you have to eat with your fingers.

20120311-104009.jpg

So I have a non related post question I have been meaning to ask for some opinions on…

I am not a fan of breakfast before a work out. In fact I hate eating before. It means I have to wait an hour to go running. So even on my longest run I have done 11 miles with nothing in my stomach. I did fuel on the run with shot bloks, and ate after I got home. So my question is…

Do you think I should eat before my half marathon next Saturday even though I have trained with out eating before? I am planning on drinking coffee to help uuuuhhh stuff… But was kind of thinking of just eating a banana with peanut butter. I don’t like to eat bread-y types of things. Messes with my stomach. Most of my carbs come from either quinoa or this week sweet potatoes. Thoughts??

Cheers!

25 thoughts on “Sunday Eats!

  1. mohawkvalleygirl says:

    I often eat a banana with peanut butter for breakfast. Before the Boilermaker (15K) and before the two 5K’s I ran that’s what I did. It was at least an hour before the race and I knew if I didn’t eat something I’d be hungry. But I’m a breakfast eater. Oh, but I usually don’t eat before running in the morning because I don’t feel like waiting an hour. So I guess I have no advice; just telling you what I do.

  2. fairyhealthylife says:

    I agree, do what you’ve been doing. I love breakfast so before a run I usually have a slice of ezekiel toast with peanut butter banana slices and chia seeds! Good luck!

  3. thisismyeverest says:

    If you’re comfortable running on an empty stomach, do what’s best for you and your body. I know I always like to choke down a banana about an hour before a workout (but I always workout after work, so I snack around 3:00 pm). Follow your body! It is much smarter than your brain.

  4. Catherine Harrison says:

    Make sure you load up on carbs with minimal protein the day before (the gut finds it more difficult to digest protein so can cause tummy probs when running) and perhaps a light breakfast on the morning. I’m a porridge fan, but need to leave it a few hours to settle.
    I ran a half today. Yesterday had porridge for breakfast, then a spinning class, then 2 slices of wholemeal toast with jam for lunch, a fruit scone in the afternoon and wholemeal pasta with homemade roasted vegetable tomato sauce for dinner. No protein, loads of good low GI healthy carbs and lots of yum factor!
    I was lucky that my half marathon didn’t start until midday so I had porridge and 2 small slices of wholemeal toast with jam for breakfast at 7am so loads of time to settle. Just sipped water and an energy drink through the morning.
    Perhaps a light breakfast of fruit and an oaty bar (do you get Kellogg’s Elevenses in the USA? They’re ideal!) would be good for you?
    Let us know what you decide. And best of luck!

  5. thecurvyroadrunner says:

    i would say to stick with what you know. nothing worse than switching up your eating the day of or day before a race and come race day your stomach is doing flips. if you are comfortable with going running with nothing on the stomach and fueling along the way, then go with that.

    now, normally i do eat prior to a run, but i keep it light. a granola bar and some milk. or oatmeal with peanut butter. or a bowl of cereal. but i dont wait an hour…i usually am eating on my way to the run itself. but everyone’s digestive systems are different. perhaps after the half, you can experiment with various breakfast options and see how they work out for you.

    best of luck!

  6. Two Moms says:

    I always run on an empty stomach. I usually dont eat breakfast and the only thing that gets me going is my coffee. I agree that if you are comfortable running with no food then that is what you should do. Dont change things the day of the race. Good luck.

  7. Henry Runs says:

    I usually eat Kashi peanut butter bar and a banana before I do a long run. I usually do this 45 minutes before I run and this does the trick for me.

  8. Alice says:

    Maybe you could trial some different options after race day? I’d say stick with what you know for now though. Do you use energy drinks or mind running with a bottle in your hand? I like to take watered down fruit juice or squash with me on my longer runs if I can’t stomach anything solid beforehand. Good luck with your race!

  9. Happy Runner says:

    A half marathon takes quite a bit out of your body, so you should fuel it before a long run. A banana with peanut butter could be sufficient. Try it out on the shorter runs during the week and see how you feel before trying on race day. It’s usually not a good idea to change something on race day. Good luck! πŸ™‚

  10. forkmyfood says:

    my 2 cents which is similar to those above, stick with what you know. i can’t run on a full stomach. actually, my stomach gets so nervous before a race, i really can’t hold much down. so i stick with a banana and whatever gu is handed at the course. πŸ™‚ best of luck!! i have my 2nd 1/2 marathon next sunday the 25th. ( 5 1/2s in 5 mos.) eek. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

