Sunday eats!

Today I thought we could dive in a little deeper on preparation of my day to day well, the day to day prep for when I go to work. On sundays I make Quinoa, I make about a cup of it and it last me all week.

20120304-115315.jpg

I put everything in these handy plastic containers with lids.

20120304-115448.jpg

While that’s cooking I pop some chicken in a zip n’ steam bag (I seriously live and die with these things) and cook it in my microwave.

20120304-115615.jpg

While the chicken is cooking and the quinoa is soaking up water I am busy chopping away, I usually chop us some celery, and an apple, and then today I opted for some strawberries too. So it just depends on what I have on hand.

20120304-115806.jpg

I also always pack hummus, cottage cheese, granola in these little containers.

20120304-120455.jpg

Today was salsa, hummus, and Greek yogurt for my chicken creation with a Mexican twist

20120304-120919.jpg

I also made a basic, chicken, broccoli, and quinoa mix

20120304-121035.jpg

Here’s what it looks like when I put it all in their respective containers/baggies and add some cuties.

20120304-121147.jpg

I have heard this so many times, but seriously it pays off to be prepared! I never go hungry and it only take on average about 10 minutes to whip up my lunch/dinner. I never really got it until I started doing it on a regular basis.

Do you like to over prepare like me?

Cheers!

17 thoughts on “Sunday eats!

  1. davidnolsen says:

    Fantastic post! I am always looking for ways to streamline and make nutritious meals easily. I am new to the whole eating healthy wagon and this post gives some great ideas! Thanks!

  2. Blackwood Lady says:

    What a great idea. I usually do a meal plan and buy groceries accordingly, but don’t pre-prep and I think that would make a huge in my week. But, as always, knowing it’s a good idea doesn’t make it easy to do it! 🙂 I’ll add it to my list of things to try. Thanks for the great post!

    • drinkrunyoga says:

      Good ideas usually equal some work or effort, so I totally know what you mean. It took me awhile to make it “habit”. I have been doing it now for about 3 months, and have it down to a fine science.

  3. Tara B. says:

    Now that I’m getting down my training schedule, my eating is such a real challenge. I appreciate this post and it gave me some great ideas. I live with a bunch of family and it’s impossible to control what comes in and out of the house, which makes eating difficult if I’m hungry and in a hurry cuz I want to grab whatever is around. Thanks for the ideas!!

    • drinkrunyoga says:

      I lived with my in-laws for 3 months in 2011….gained 20 pounds. It’s not easy. I salute anyone who could do it AND lose weight! Kudos to you, to make the effort

  4. savor the sweet life says:

    I use my whole weekend to making things we will need for lunches and breakfasts for the week. It drives me crazy when Jamie buys lunch..I always tell him that I go grocery shopping for a reason! 😛 I enjoy making most of what we eat..I like having control over what’s in our food. Plus, it makes the rest of the week so easy becaue I’ve got most of the major stuff prepared. I’ve never tried those zip lock steamer bags…I’ll have to give them a whirl!

    • drinkrunyoga says:

      My husband like to buy his lunch too. Sometimes when I hand him his lunch that I made for him he rolls his eyes. Nice babe, love you too! But in the end we have mostly compromised. He can buy lunch on the weekends, and on his day off during the week, and I’ll make him lunch the rest of the week. It’s about as fair as we could get. And I totally feel ya on the control over what is in your food. I don’t like buying “pre-prepared” meals, so much crap goes into everything. I could totally make most of that stuff and probably much healthier! The zip lock bags are amazing, they have changed my life! I sound so dramatic, but seriously I cook most of my lunches in those things and it’s perfect just for one person.

  5. Progress Always says:

    What is this zip ‘n steam bag and why haven’t I ever seen it before?!?! I’m definitely hitting up Amazon for some of those. I love Sunday meal prep – it makes it so much easier to stick to healthy eating once the week gets busy!

    • drinkrunyoga says:

      You can find them at target too! They have the time amounts on the outside of the bag so you know exactly how long to cook your veg/chicken/any other thing you wanna steam. They are amazing!

Leave a Reply

