Long run decisions

Decisions, decisions…

Today I had to decide how long my “long run” should be. Basically I had been tossing around the idea of continuing this half Mary training to turn into full marathon training. There are a few full spring full marathons about 4-8 weeks after the Lucky Run. Today I finally decided I just want to focus on this Lucky Run, meaning this week is….

Taper time!!

I opted to go ahead and brace the hills and tackle 9 miles for my LR. I learned something new this week. Last week I ha no pain after my LR (11miles) today I had lots of pain in my hips. It has to be from the hills. Wow, ok so hips do not like hill training. I have this old hip injury that only flares up after 8 miles on the hills.

Finished 9.02 miles at a 11:04 min/mile pace. Not too bad. I feel pretty well prepared for the Lucky Run in 2 weeks.

One more LR, and I think I’ll shoot for 7-8 next week.

Post run breakfast is the same ol’ same ol’!

20120302-095912.jpg

Greek yogurt, peanut butter, kashi go lean crunch, and banana slices. Yum!

Do you ever find yourself eating the same thing over and over again, and never being bored?

Cheers!

10 thoughts on “Long run decisions

  1. Henry Runs says:

    That is a great breakfast idea and it looks really good! I also tend to eat the same things over and over without getting tired of them. For breakfast, I usually rotate between a whole wheat bagle with peanut butter and a banana or a cup of yogart with a 1/2 cup of granola and blueberries. I never seem to get tired of either one.

    • drinkrunyoga says:

      It’s fabulous! And I find that a lot of runner’s eat the same things over an over again. I think we care A LOT about how our stomach reacts to certain foods, and how they react while we are running.

  2. Steve B. says:

    I love taper time! You get a chance to relax a little and are ready to come out fighting on race day. Good luck to you!

Leave a Reply

