Here’s the thing about…

Waking up too early JUST to work out.

This morning I needed to be at work at 5:30 am. Ouch! Not as bad as 4am though.

Here’s how my brain was thinking last night:

-if you do kenpo x tomorrow before work, it will be done before you get home. Win-win?

-you normally have to be up at 3 on Wednesday’s, why not wake up at 3 to work out? Then head to work at 4:30.

-you will feel amazing afterwards!

-You totally got this.

-if you set the coffee pot, you can have a cup of coffee to wake up. Plus you will want it piping hot, so you better wake up at this time.

Ok brain, since “I got this” I made my lunch. I set my coffee for 3 am. I laid out my work out clothes, and my work clothes.

Here’s what my brain told me at 3 am.

-ERROR! Can not function on 4 1/2 hours of sleep!

-must sleep!

-reset alarm for 4:15 and go back to sleep

-brain hates to work out before work

-work outs can totally be done after work no problem

-the damn coffee pot says on for hours, so it will be ready for you at 4:15.

So, you see that damn brain knows every single reason why I SHOULD have worked out at 3 am. However it also knew every DAMN excuse on why not to work out. In the end I reset my alarm and went back to sleep. I hate waking up with my eyes all scratchy and that sicky feeling in my stomach.

I will end up running after work, then doing kenpo. I keep thinking of it like my “last chance work out” since tomorrow is my weigh in day.

Agenda for later today

Get off work at 2:15, pray that there was no accidents (its raining for the first time in a couple weeks) and that I can get home by 3.

Run 5 miles

Kenpo

No turning back now…

Do you ever reset your alarm when you know you could just do the work out after work? (or are you some kind of crazy person who likes to wake up too early and get it done?)

Cheers!

16 thoughts on “Here’s the thing about…

  1. Dallan says:

    I totally understand what you’re saying about how logically your brain knows all the reasons why you should workout, but then you don’t. Crazy!!

  2. savor the sweet life says:

    I do a mixture of both. Some mornings I am so ready to get out of bed and go for that morning workout. Then other mornings I have a similar convestation in my head as you did..my brain says that the workout can be done after work so why get up early? This morning I had the same though as you and I rolled over to catch that extra hour of sleep. I’ll be doing P90x Shoulder and Arms tonight…and attempting to get up tomorrow to do Insanity. 😛

  3. cumbiedays says:

    Oh my goodness! We were right there with you today! We got up at 5.30 to do Kenpo, and my husband…While I prefer AM workouts, my brain/body HATES waking up before 6.30–even if fall asleep by like 9.30! And on weekend when I can sleep in, my fur children make sure that I’m up by 6! Good Luck at your weigh in!

  4. tmarsh101 says:

    Ah, the brain vs. the alarm clock! I feel your pain…was in the same boat this morning although not quite as early. I will be suffering right there with you after work which I do not like. Getting a work out done early is the best when you can actually get out of bed. BTW, Brass is adorable! He’s too cute to run more than 2 miles and he knows it! 🙂

  5. MattXensen says:

    Believe it or not, but getting a good nights sleep is more important than working out. If you are not getting enough sleep you will not make gains or recover from previous workouts. I would focus more on getting quality sleep (8 hours). You will be amazed at your results. Life is easy.

  6. elisariva says:

    I am up at 4:30 to get to gym. Having a training partner waiting for me helps a lot. I hit snooze when I know I have time, but I am a crazy morning person. That is due to most evening have another workout scheduled and I only like to do one at a time! Enjoy your run!

  7. Elizabeth says:

    I am getting back into the whole working out in the morning thing, so I completely understand these feelings! I used to be an avid morning workout gal, then I became an evening worker-outer and just felt like my day was “off.” Now, I’m back in the game, and there is nothing worse than that scream of the alarm at o’-dark-hundred. But, the hardest part is getting out of bed, and “treats” like coffee are definitely a motivator for me! Like you, I’m also doing P90X– good luck with it! I’m loving it! What phase are you on?

  8. coachcrystalspadawan says:

    I know exactly how you feel. My wife is super gung ho about working out at 4:15 in the a.m. Our workout room really isnt big enough for both of us at the same time so I make the “sacrifice” of letting her workout in the morning.
    Then, when the kids are driving us crazy that evening (a two and five year old), I have to go work out since I didn’t get to that morning. She thinks I am being sweet, but really I think she is crazy for the 4:15 workout. I do sometimes have a two year old on my stability ball or helping me perfect downward dog in X2 Yoga, but its a small price to pay for an extra hour of sleep.

  9. elizabethruns says:

    Morning girl all the way! The only workout I can tolerate later in the day is a class, mostly because I like kickboxing with a bunch of wild and crazy women on Tuesday nights. I love the early morning run—the quiet, the solitude, the feeling of being done before the day actually starts. But I know how you feel! My husband is a night owl and I have paid the up-too-late price many a time. Good for you for fitting it all in at the end of the day!

Leave a Reply

