Weight loss is never easy

I finally feel like my hangover bloat from 2 (or was it 3) days ago is gone. I was feeling super good this morning, so good I thought I would weigh myself to see the progress in the past week. 195. Not depressed about this number, not excited either. I feel like I am maintaining instead of losing. My next goal is to get to 186 by the 1/2 Mary on march 17. I lost 1 pound in a week. Not sure if I should set my sights on that particular number. I know I have to stay positive about weight loss. It’s not always on the scale.

Things I need to remind myself when the number doesn’t reflect the effort.

~I can definitely tell my size 14’s are loose after coming out of the dryer.
~All my XL shirts are too baggy for me to wear.
~my workouts are increasingly easier to do as time passes.
~I can seriously do “real push ups”
~people are noticing I’m losing weight

It’s definitely frustrating and not easy to lose weight. 195, this number isn’t my number. I will lose another pound next week, and the week after, and if I dont i won’t beat myself up about it.

I have to be diligent when it comes to food. I can’t give into temptation when it’s my day off and the hubs asks me if I want seconds or a beer. I’m going to stick to this dry kick.

Thursday is as good as any other day to make it my weigh in day. No more daily weigh ins. I really think it starts messing with your head after awhile.

I started this blog to be accountable to a healthy lifestyle, not just exercising. Exercising is really only a small part of living healthfully.

Abs are made in the kitchen…
Abs are made in the kitchen.
Abs are made in the kitchen!

I totally got this!

7 thoughts on “Weight loss is never easy

  1. paralaxvu says:

    I’ve chosen you as my new mentor, never mind the fact that I’m almost 40 years older than you! I am 5 ft. 8 in. tall and also weigh 195. But my jeans are size 16 or 18, depending on where I get them. How come you’re only a 14? Keep up the good work, I’m going to be following you closely!

  2. Liz @ Run Fat Chick Run! says:

    I am riding the oh so not exciting maintain train with you. It’s not so much of maintaining as very slow scale movement which is somehow even more frustrating to me. The reality is, with a little tweak here and there the weight will come off – just not on our schedule. I like your strategy.

    • drinkrunyoga says:

      Thanks and I like your way of thinking, “eventually it will come off!” And I know that and most days I’m ok with that. It’s just every once in awhile where I’m feeling very overwhelmed with the finish line. It took me 3 years to get here, it may take another 3, but eventually I will get there 🙂

  3. chrisw52 says:

    I can totally relate to the weight loss. But over time, as I keep the weight off, I have noticed that it’s easier to do. I read somewhere that it can take as much as a year for your body to adjust to it’s new level of fitness. that’s why a lot of people fail on their diets.

    good luck, your on the right track.

  4. tyrmi says:

    Abs are made in the kitchen… Great mantra. 😉 I’ve never in my life lost any weight by exercising. Even if I ran 10 miles a day, I could easily make it up in by eating some extra pizza and white chocolate. Nowadays I’m trying to lose weight to improve my running, not the other way around. Good luck with your weight loss, seems you’re doing great!

Leave a Reply

