Attack of the KILLER hills…

Today I had set out to do 7. I bargained with myself and said I would run a little on the easy side, but take the hills as hard as I could. There are about 5 hills on this 7 mile journey. Some are not as steep, but all end up taking me 1-3 songs to finish. So give or take 1/4-3/4 mile in length. Luckily the sun came out and I was able to see some pretty awesome views.

20120129-103014.jpg
It was really cold out, about 35 degrees. The sun was out and the weather report said it would warm up pretty fast. Here’s a pic of me while running.

20120129-103136.jpg
This particular hill was a doozy, I seriously almost started cursing as I looked down and saw how steep it was!

20120129-103232.jpg
The pictures just don’t don’t justice. This hill took me at least 3 songs to complete. So steep and long! It was worse coming down and having to do it agin in the opposite direction (since its a down and back).

The full work out ended up being 8.24 miles. I ran it in 1hr 39min at a 12.01 min/mile pace. I actually ended up having a pain in my right foot. My middle 3 toes were having these stabbing pains, so I just slowed down quite a bit in the last 2 miles and finished a little slower than I wanted to. All in all I think I climbed about 20-30 rolling hills and 5 monster hills. The first 2 I hit hard, but was running out of steam for the last ones.

Ultimately I have decided to go for the 1/2 Mary in Davis on march 17. I have a few other schedule changes for the year, but I know I’ll get to run a race each month.

1 week until the Davis Stampede, and I am getting excited! Hubby not so much…just realized its on super bowl Sunday. Poor planning on my part, but luckily the race will be done before te game starts.

Leave a Reply

